Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Believe?

Do You Believe?

I had a thought during church this past Sunday.  Actually, if you saw my bulletin, you would see that I had many thoughts.  I wrote several of them down, including this one:

Unbelief is sin leading to more sin leading to more unbelief.

I think that unbelief is the heart of sin.  We don’t believe God.  We choose to go in the opposite direction from the one God wants us to travel.

The problem, then, is where unbelief leads us.  It leads us to more sin.  Unbelief in one area too often leads to unbelief in another.  One area of sin makes it much easier to have another area of sin.  And another.  And another.

All of this sin leads to even more unbelief.  Sin drives us further from God making it harder and harder to believe Him.

Where do we end up?

Metaphorically for us, and what was reality for Israel, is the wilderness.  Think about that for a minute.

Israel didn’t believe that they could conquer the Promised Land.  They didn’t believe that God had already won the battle.  The chose to not believe.  They ended up in the wilderness for forty years.  All of them died except for Joshua and Caleb, who were willing to go the first time.

We too end up in the wilderness.  We may not realize it, but we do when we don’t believe.  Our stay might be short, or it could be long.  The more we sin, the more we slip further and further into the desert.

So, how do we get out of it?

Believe.  Believe when we don’t really want to.  Believe when it’s hard.  Believe when we don’t have a reason that makes sense.  Just believe God.

That’s easier said than done.  I get that.  I believe and then don’t believe several times.  Not believing has never benefited my life.

I just have to believe whether I like it or not.

Do you find it easy to believe God or hard?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    March 24, 2015 at 2:37 am

    I believe! But it’s always in God’s timing…God may say NOW! Or maybe God will say NOT NOW! If that makes sense?

  2. March 24, 2015 at 9:21 am

    I don’t find it hard to believe so much as hard to obey. I can be obstinate. And sometimes I pray for help, then turn away when it comes. I want God to fix me without me having to actually change what’s wrong. If that makes sense.

  3. March 24, 2015 at 9:51 am

    I have learned over time to trust more, even when i can’t see.

  4. March 24, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    The longer He walks with me, the more I trust Him. It’s all based on Him walking with me because I am frail and so often I walk another way. Thanks God for His mercy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

