Home > Christianity, Faith > I Am No Guru

I Am No Guru

I don’t know if he was the first one or not, but he may have been the first famous one.

His name was Maharishi Mahesh Yogi.  He achieved fame as the Beatles guru.  Later on, he was the same for the Beach Boys and other celebrities.  He reveled in being a guru.

Me, I’m no guru.

These days everyone seems to be a guru.

There are financial gurus.  Dave Ramsey is one, I suppose.

There are spiritual gurus.  Any number of preachers and other spiritual guys fill that role.

There are blogging gurus, writing gurus, career gurus and you name it gurus.

A guru is a popular teacher or expert, someone who people look to for answers and advice.

I have to admit that I have wanted to be a guru.  I have wanted people to look forward to my blog and look to me for answers.

I realize that pride was driving that.  I wanted to be looked up to and admired.

I was totally self-centered.

I think people who want to be gurus are like that.  They are focused on themselves, not those who look up to the guru.

People who truly want to help people don’t think about becoming gurus.  They are focused outward.  They are focused on others.  The love and serve others, not themselves.

Me?

I’m just a guy who wanted to be a guru, but I’m no guru.  I want to love others the way Christ loves people.

Do you have a guru?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. March 25, 2015 at 7:20 am

    I used to “guru” Dave Ramsey. I realize now he is just a guy who got rich. I used to want to be like some “name” preachers. But I can’t write or preach like them. I just want to be me and who God made me to be.

  2. robshep
    March 25, 2015 at 9:26 am

    I looked to a few blogging gurus to help me get started. They were very helpful. I also look at a few preaching gurus to fine tune my speaking. I think Communicating for a Change is a brilliant book by Andy Stanley. I don’t try to be Andy. I try to be me, but I want to learn from anyone I can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

