Home > Christianity, Faith > Your Job Might Not Be Your Calling

Your Job Might Not Be Your Calling

What are you doing today?

If you’re like me, you’ll probably wake up, get ready for work and head in for a hard day in the salt mines.  Or if you’re lucky, the gold mines.

We have to work.  At least most of us do, though some seem to make a profession out avoiding gainful employment.  We all need to eat and need money to buy food.  Having a job seems to be one of the best ways to fund our survival.

I’ve been working now since I was sixteen and a junior in high school.  There have been very few months where I have not been employed.  I’ve learned a lot over the years.  One of the things I have learned is this.

Your job is not necessarily your calling.

*****

I remember the first time I heard about someone “missing their calling.”  My parents like to play Rook and often invited friends over to play.  I was usually bored and had to entertain myself.  On this particular occasion, my parents and their friends hooted, hollered and laughed all night long.  My dad later said that his friend had missed his calling and should have been a comedian.

I’m not sure about all that, but after many years I finally understand what he meant.

I believe that God gives us natural talents when we are born.  We might even call them common talents.  Everyone, whether they know the Lord or not, have these talents.  We may develop these talents.  They may grow over time.  You may gain new ones through sheer will and determination.

Not so when you come to salvation.

You gain some gifts through your new relationship with Christ.  You also gain something else.

A calling.

Now some of us are lucky enough for something to happen.  Some of us are fortunate enough for our calling and job to be the same.  Most of us are not so fortunate.

However, if we want to truly enjoy life and find fulfillment, we will discover and pursue our calling.  We may enjoy our job.  Our job may fund our life.  Our calling, though, is where our inner joy and happiness truly come from.

So get out there and find your calling.  It might be to make regular mission trips to Haiti.  Maybe it’s to bring clean water to India in Christ’s name.  Whatever it is, remember one thing:

Your job is not necessarily your calling.

Do you know what your calling is?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. March 26, 2015 at 7:07 am

    Yes i do and have been doing it for almost 40 years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

