Home > Movies > Whiplash: A Movie Review

Whiplash: A Movie Review

I watched Whiplash this pa,st weekend.  It was lauded as one of the best movies of the year, so we gave it a shot.

This movie is the story of a young man who wants to be a great jazz drummer.  He attends a school that will help him develop the skills necessary to be one of the greats.  One of the teacher leads a band that is considered one of the best training grounds in the county.  The student is asked to join and is pushed in incredible ways as he moves toward his goal.  Eventually, his dream is shattered resulting in his dismissal from school.

This movie has some of the most pervasive language I have heard in a movie in some time.  I have never truly heard anyone in real life talk this way, so I cannot testify to how realistic it is.  If someone spoke to me the way the characters did in the movie, I would find it difficult to not strike back physically.

I cannot recommend this movie due to this language.  I feel like I need to wash my ears out with soap due to watching this film.

Categories: Movies Tags:
  1. March 30, 2015 at 7:55 am

    We took our grandson to see HOME this past Friday. It would have been more worth your time. The last time I felt like that was when I went to Jersey Boys at the IU Auditorium. I love Frankie Valli but wow! I told Jo I felt like I needed to wash my ears out with soap. I definitely won’t be going to see your movie.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

