Home > Christianity, Faith > Why Election Doesn’t Bother Me

Why Election Doesn’t Bother Me

Back in 2001, I interviewed for a church job.  It was going real well until I was asked one question.  It’s a question that has stuck with me and made me dig into God’s word a little bit.  The question went something like this:

“Do you believe in election?”

This question caught me off guard.  I had expected all sorts of questions, from what I thought about the Bible to leadership.  But election?  That one stumped me for a minute.

I finally answered that since it was in the Bible that I believed in it.  I’m not sure they liked my answer.  I honestly believe that they wanted me to refute election on the spot.

To be honest, I wasn’t 100% sure where I landed on election other than the answer I gave.  Since then, though, my answer has changed and, hopefully, been fleshed out a bit.  So what do I think about it now?

I believe that God chose us before the foundation of the world.  I don’t try to parse it down too much.  That is basically what Paul says in Ephesians, so I’ll go with Paul.

Still, I had trouble with this until recently.  I didn’t know how to talk about it that really made sense to anyone until I happened to think about my own children.

After Jan and I were married we began to plan our family.  We decided that we wanted a child.  We elected to have children.  We chose to have our children.

First came Lauren.  Four years later Andrew showed up.

Election was involved in us having our kids.

That’s why I don’t have much of a problem with election any more.  If two finite people can elect to have children, then why not the God of this universe?

If Jan and I can elect for our children to enter our lives and be born, then why can’t God elect us from before the beginning of time to be born again.

You don’t have to agree with me.  We can disagree and still be friends.  But let me explain why this is important and, more importantly, gives me the greatest comfort in the world.

If God’s election resulted in me being part of His family, then He has loved me longer than I can truly wrap my mind around.  He said, before the beginning of time, “I’m going to have a follower named Larry one day who is going to be born again.  And nothing can stop or change that.”

I feel all sorts of warm and fuzzy thinking about that.

So, no, election doesn’t bother me?

Does it bother you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. March 31, 2015 at 8:10 am

    nope. well said. I couldn’t choose my parents. why I earth would I think I can choose my God? LOL… he chose me…loved me first…and the rest is history…or future…or you know. LOL…

  2. March 31, 2015 at 9:59 am

    Nope. I just don’t totally understand it so I plead ignorance. 🙂

  3. robshep
    March 31, 2015 at 11:27 am

    Not really. Similar to you I have wrestled with it in the past. God elected Israel but there was still room for others to join. I don’t fully understand how it works, but I am okay with that. Great post!

  4. March 31, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    Larry,

    I can accept election from that perspective. What I utterly abhor is the idea of God electing a person for hell from the foundation of the world. I believe that totally contradicts the image of the Abba of Jesus, It also goes against Peter’s statement that it is not God’s will for any to perish, but for all to come to repentance (2 Peter 3:9). See also Jesus discussion with Nicodemus in John 3.

    I feel very strongly about this, as we discussed a couple of years ago, but we can still be friends despite any disagreements.

    Love reading your blog, though I don’t comment often!

    • Steve Y
      March 31, 2015 at 7:46 pm

      You lost me on this one. I was thinking about government elections.

  5. Ricky Anderson
    April 1, 2015 at 12:13 am

    Election only bothers me because it implies the inverse is true, too. However, I can believe in it without having to agree with or fully understand it. That’s God’s decision, not mine. He can defend it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

