Home > Christianity, Faith > Is Prayer Your Default?

Is Prayer Your Default?

Something happened the other day.  It doesn’t matter what it was.  It was just a major crisis in someone’s life.

I found myself running on the treadmill.  I didn’t know what else to do.  Well, except for one other thing.

Pray.

*****

So often, too often, I don’t.  Pray that is.  I find myself trying to fix something myself.  All by myself.  I act as though I have all the power in the world.

I act as though it is me who is God.

*****

My default isn’t prayer.  My default is the furthest thing from prayer.  What is even worse is that I don’t even think to pray.  I just dive in headfirst, rushing into life with no thought of trusting the Lord.

Shame on me.

Do you default to prayer during tough times?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. April 1, 2015 at 7:16 am

    I’d love to say yes, but that would be lying.

  2. robshep
    April 1, 2015 at 10:02 am

    Yes. That’s both good and bad. I wish I prayed with the same passion during good times as I do during bad. The bad draws out my desperation for God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

