Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Hate Your Sin More?

Do You Hate Your Sin More?

From what I can tell from reading the Bible, God doesn’t hate a lot of things.  That’s nice to know about a God who most of us would call a God of love.

However, there are some things that He does hate.  A proud look.  A lying tongue.  Several other things from Proverbs 6.  The Bible also says that God hated Esau.

If we boiled it down, the best way to describe what God hates is sin.  Sin is what separates us from Him and He hates it.

*****

I had a strange thought while I was on the treadmill the other day.  I spend a lot of time on running and walking of the mornings these days.  I tend to think while I do that.

This thought popped into my head:

Do I hate my own sin as much as the sin I hate?

I think we all have blind spots to our own sin.  We sometimes get numb to it and don’t realize we are sinning.  We might even justify it if we think it remotely approaches sin.

On the other hand we have our pet sins that we like to hate.  Not our own, of course.  I mean others sins.  They may be cultural sins.   Perhaps they are sins that disgust us.  Maybe they are sins that hurt others.

It’s easy to hate those sins.  With much pride, we tend to hate them.

But do we hate our own sin as much as those?

I think that is a place we need to get to.  We need to realize that our own sin offends God.  Our own sin separates us from Him.  Our own sin put Christ on the cross to save us from that sin.

It’s incredible really.

Why don’t we hate our own sin?  Because we are comfortable with it.  It makes us feel good.  It’s like how some people eat a bowl of mashed potatoes and gravy when they are stressed.  It’s not the best thing for you, but, oh, it feels so good.

We need to get over this comfort level with sin.  We need to get out of our comfort zones.  We need to develop a hatred for our sin.  Just start hating it.  When we don’t hate it enough, keep hating it.  Hate it some more and more until the hate is strong.

Hate it like God hates it.

Do you hate your own sin?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. April 9, 2015 at 7:58 am

    Good thoughts Larry. I think some of it comes down the failure to be honest with ourselves. “What I do is not as bad as ____________.”

  2. jonstolpe
    April 9, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    Some good thoughts here, Larry. Another direction to take this thinking: Do I love the sinner despite the sin?

  3. April 13, 2015 at 11:13 am

    I think you are a hundred perfect right Larry, if we just work on our own sin we would have less time to judge others. good post.

    • April 13, 2015 at 10:22 pm

      opps, I meant, one hundred percent right…

  4. robshep
    April 13, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    Most excellent thoughts!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

