Home > Christianity, Church, Faith, Movies > Furious 7

Furious 7

I can honestly say that I didn’t get on the Fast and Furious bandwagon until just a few years ago.  Andrew caught one of them on TV and decided that he liked them.  We began getting the DVD’s and watching them in earnest.

The fact that this series has made it this far is incredible.  Who would have thought that a franchise that had its roots in street racing would transform itself into one of the best action franchises in history?  Who would have thought that this seventh installment would be racing toward one billion dollars?  I think even Dr. Evil would be astounded at that figure, but we won’t get sidetracked.

It would be easy to just give a standard review.  You know, a synopsis of the movie, what was good about it and what wasn’t.  This movie definitely is not perfect.  None are.  However, it ranks up there among the best of the seven.

I was a little surprised that Kurt Russell ended up not turning on the team.  I had him pegged as working with the main villain.  It was refreshing to see him remain one of the good guys.

The tribute to Paul Walker was done with class.  You could tell that there was a lot of emotion and love that was on display while remembering one of the main stars of the film series.

However, all of that is not what I want to focus on.

After we left the theater, Andrew asked me what I liked best about these movies.  I paused for a minute and thought about it.  I was able to give him one word for the answer.

Family.

Family is one of the themes that has run through these movies from the beginning.  Yes, the concept of family in unconventional.  It’s multicultural, bringing Hispanic, Black and White culture together.  Yes, they have questionable morals, but so did many of our heroes in the Bible.  So do many of us.

I love the picture, very flawed that it is, that the Fast and Furious movies give us of how our churches should be.  Granted, in some areas it’s difficult for our churches to be multicultural.  The zip code I live in is 99.99% white.  Yet, somehow we have Cubans who attend our church, as well as Haitian, African-American, and some plain old African.  There is even a pastor from India that considers us his home church when he is in American.

The Church is family.  The Church is multicultural.  Even more so than the world of Fast and Furious.

Have you seen Furious 7?  Are you going to?

 

  1. April 15, 2015 at 7:38 am

    No I haven’t. I doubt it since it is not Jo’s cup of tea. And love your application of family/church.

  2. robshep
    April 15, 2015 at 8:57 am

    I saw it. I liked Fast 5 the best. I agree with you about the tie of family. It’s strong in this series and very powerful.

  3. Tina
    April 15, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    Saw it opening weekend and loved it! We spent a week and a half before watching the first 6 again to refresh my memory (and Grace had not seen any of them). I, too, love the theme of family!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

