FOMO

I’m sure you have heard of FOMO by now.  If not, it is short for Fear Of Missing Out.

I’m not sure if it was around before social media, but it certainly is now.  And I have certainly been guilty of it.  And I’m certain that social media exploded this sensation within me.

I opened my Facebook account in November of 2008.  Well, actually, my family did it for me.  I had absolutely no interest in social media.  When they told me that I was getting friend requests on this account of mine that they were managing, I stepped in.  The rest is history.

Six months later something else happened.  I started my own Twitter account.  I did this to get the upper-hand on my kids.  I figured that they would want to open one soon, so I jumped in before them.

I didn’t tweet much for the first six months or so.  Since then, I have tweeted 47,700 times.  You have to spend a lot of time on Twitter to do that.

Why did I spend that much time on Twitter, tweeting random thoughts and retweets?

FOMO

Why did I spend a ton of time on Facebook, possibly neglecting time I could have spent time with my family?

FOMO

Why did I blog seven days a week for a couple of years, and then five days a week for a couple of more?

FOMO

We fear missing out on a ton of things in our lives.  A lot of, let’s face it, truly trivial things.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve built some good friendships through these platforms.  But when I examine much of what I have done in social media, it’s trivial.  And much of what I do going forward will probably be trivial.  And I will probably experience FOMO again and again.

I wish that we all experience FOMO in one other area.  I wish that we feared missing out in our relationship with Jesus as much as all of these others things.  I wish that Jesus was our treasure, something that we would be willing to sell everything we own so we could buy a field with said treasure in.

Wouldn’t that be something?

Have you ever experienced FOMO?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. April 17, 2015 at 8:23 am

    Yes. And too many times I have let it push me to stress when my FOMO kept be busy on the wrong things. It goes hand-in-hand with procrastination.
    Is there a solution?

    • April 17, 2015 at 8:53 am

      I’m still trying to figure that out. I think it has to do with determining what matters most and focusing on those things.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

