Home > Christianity, Faith > What Are You Seeking?

What Are You Seeking?

We are all seeking something.

We may be seeking wealth or power.  Perhaps its acceptance or love.  Maybe it’s something simple, like a new job or a career.

It doesn’t matter what it is.  We’re all seeking something.

I heard recently that someone I knew was at a new church.  Because of circumstances that I cannot go into, this person has left their church.  It might be said that this friend of mine is shopping.  However, it’s really more like what I’ve already written.

My friend is seeking.

*****

If everyone is seeking something, I wonder what it is that we should all be seeking.  I understand that we will all have some differences, but is there something at our core that should be common to all of us?

I think there is.  And I think I found it the other day.

In Jeremiah 29, we might find the answer.  You might know Jeremiah 29 because of verse 11.  Many people claim it as one of their life verses, with the Lord knowing the thoughts He thinks about us, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give us a future and a hope.  (Yes, I know that Jeremiah  is talking about Israel, but I don’t believe this is limited to Israel.)

Just before that, though, in verse 7, Isaiah writes that Israel should seek the peace of the city where He had caused them to be carried away.  Your translation may say welfare, but is there really much difference?  If someone’s welfare is not being taken care of, they do not have peace. Jeremiah goes on to say that in this peace, Israel would find peace.

That’s astounding, isn’t it?  Our peace is found in the peace we seek around us.  By seeking the peace of the world around us, we find peace.

So, where do we find that peace?

In the Prince of Peace, of course.  We should seek our peace with Him first, and then take that peace to those around us.

We are all seeking something.  Why not seek what would benefit the world and ourselves the most?

Are you seeking peace?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    April 20, 2015 at 3:53 am

    Yes! Always!

  2. April 20, 2015 at 8:26 am

    Wisdom. I’m seeking wisdom. On the side: did you mix Jeremiah and Isaiah?

  3. robshep
    April 20, 2015 at 9:27 am

    I’m seeking Jesus. Far too often I’m seeking other things, but Jesus is the only thing that satisfies.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

