Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You Stimulating?

Are You Stimulating?

Just a few short years ago, our country faced a financial crisis.  There was an economic meltdown that few had ever seen in their lifetimes.  The government, no matter your political flavor, decided to act.  What they did was to try to provide a stimulus to help the economy.

***

Last July I did something that I had tried to do before.  I gave up caffeine.  There have been times that it has been difficult.  I have been tempted to give in and drink a Mountain Dew a few times of late.  Why?  Because the Mountain Dew would be stimulating to me.

***

A few years ago, a gentleman went over a personality test that I had taken to help determine part of my career.  I thought it was dead on about who I was.  This individual said something that I have never forgotten,  With an attitude that came across as though it was a character flaw, he said that I was not gregarious.  The implication was that I was not a stimulating person.

***

Here’s the thing.  You and I should be stimulating.  And we can be.  You might even say that it is part of the calling of our faith.

Who tells us this?  Is it in the Bible?

I don’t know and yes are the answers.

The answer is found in Hebrews and we can’t  honestly say who said it since we don’t know who wrote that particular part of scripture.

Yes, it is found in the Bible.

In Hebrews 10:24, the writer tells us that we should “consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds.”

If that is a measure of how we are doing the faith, then I stink.

I don’t know if I am stimulating those two actions, but I know for sure that I cam not considering it very often.  However, what  better impact could we have on each other’s lives?

If I am stimulating me and I am stimulating you, then we are doing a big part of our job.  The winner?  Ever member of the church.

It doesn’t matter if the government is stimulating the economy, our soft drinks stimulate us or if we have stimulating personalities.  All that matters is that we stimulate each other do good and love.  If we focused on doing those two things, the world would know the God we worship.

Are you stimulating others to love and good works?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. April 22, 2015 at 7:26 am

    I hope so. I hope when people leave my presence they have found an impetus to do both.

  2. robshep
    April 22, 2015 at 10:07 am

    That’s the goal. I get to see it from the stories of life change from our church. I hope even more that I’m doing the same thing for my family and friends. They get to see me up close and personal.

  3. April 25, 2015 at 8:41 am

    Every once in a while the Lord shows me through someone that I am stimulating others. I know I desire to for His glory. He is worth stimulating others to. thought provoking post brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

