Home > Christianity, Faith > How Walking In A Mall Changed Me

How Walking In A Mall Changed Me

I have embarrassed my kids a few times in their lives.  A few months ago was the latest incident.

We went to the mall to do a few things, none of which involved me.  I was a little short on my steps that day, so I did the natural things.

I joined the other mall walkers.

I don’t recall how many trips around the mall I took, but it was several.  I was soon on my way to completing my 20,000 steps for the day.

My daughter was working at a store in the mall at the time.  She had some words for me that indicated what she thought of mall walkers.  It wasn’t terrible, but they weren’t high on her list either.

Unfortunately, I used to work in the same mall and at one time I had the same thoughts about mall walkers.

Fortunately, my attitude has changed.

We are all like that, though.  Don’t give me that look.  You know it.

We all have a certain idea about certain people.  No matter what someone tells us, they can’t change our minds.  Do you know what will though?

Walking a mile in their shoes.

For me, it was literally walking around a mall.  I understood a little better why some people would go there to simply walk.  My attitude change.

I want to challenge you today.  Think of a group that you might not think highly of.  Try to empathize with them.  Follow in their footsteps for a minute.  Put yourself in their place.

It might change you.

It might change the world.

Do you have a group of people who you need to change your attitude about?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. Ricky Anderson
    May 1, 2015 at 8:29 am

    i hate rude drivers. Drive too fast, don’t signal, keep turning left with the pack when the turn arrow has gone red, etc. Today I resolve to drive a mile in their shoes.

  2. May 1, 2015 at 8:52 am

    I would like to walk a mile or two in a rich person shoes. Just kidding, good point brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

