Home > Blogging, Movies > Avengers: Age Of Ultron – A Review

Avengers: Age Of Ultron – A Review

You probably know by now that I am a comic book movie fan.  I love them.  I buy them.  So it should not surprise you that I went to see the new Avengers movie this weekend.

I have seen all sorts of reviews of this movie.  Many have loved it. Others have been lukewarm.  I have even seen one review that had it ranked as one of the lowest of all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe films.  Of course when I saw how that person ranked them, I totally discounted their review and ranking.

The original Avengers movie was amazing.  It brought together all of the heroes that had appeared in solo films and put them together.  Nothing like it had ever been seen before.  It ranks among the greatest superhero films ever.

So, how did I like the sequel?

I loved it.

It started off with action right off the bat.  It slowed down when it needed to.  It introduced new villains and characters.  The Avengers faced incredible obstacles.

It was good to see some of the lesser known characters have an opportunity to shine and develop.

Was it a perfect movie?  No.  I haven’t seen a perfect one yet.  Was it Marvel’s best?  No.  Captain America: Winter Soldier might be.  However, that’s part of the problem I see with some of the less stellar reviews.  They are comparing each movie instead of realizing that each Marvel movie is really a chapter in a larger story they are telling.  According to sources, that story is already planned out through the mid-2020’s.

Will everyone like Age of Ultron?  No and that’s ok.  However, if you love comic book movies, you will like this one.

Will you see Avengers: Age of Ultron?

Categories: Blogging, Movies Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    May 4, 2015 at 1:07 am

    I’m planning to see it on Discount Wednesday. It’s funny you mentioned still reading comic books…I only tend to read the graphic novels because Comic books are too costly. lol

  2. May 4, 2015 at 6:28 am

    Saw it this past Friday night. I will see it again, probably at home, although we have free tickets to our local theater. 🙂 I felt it was good but some of the dialogue was murky, hard to understand. I will enjoy close-caption when I get the DVD.

  3. jonstolpe
    May 4, 2015 at 8:06 am

    I’d like to see it. I will either get it from Redbox, or I will go see it at the cheap theater when it comes in a few weeks.

  4. philsname32
    May 4, 2015 at 11:20 am

    Saw it Friday night and loved it. Like you said it’s not the best one, but I think they did a great job expanding the story. I will see it again, maybe even twice more while it’s still in theaters.

  5. robshep
    May 4, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    I loved it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

