Home > Christianity, Faith > I Don’t Believe In Coincidence

I Don’t Believe In Coincidence

As some of you know, I have a campground ministry in the summer.  I show up at the campground every Sunday morning from May through October.  I have been doing this now since 2002 and it astounds me when I type that.

This year, however, I did something a little different.  I stopped by the campground one day to check on the owners and verify that I could start back up on the first Sunday in May.  To my surprise, they said that they were full during the last week of April and that I was welcome to start.  I scrambled to change my plans and on that Sunday, I started up.

Two of what I call my regular campers were there.  I call them regular campers because they are people who come back multiple times over multiple years.  In fact one of them didn’t find the flier I left on his picnic table.  He just happened to see me and came for the service.

Here’s the rub about this particular Sunday.  Both sets of these regular campers were leaving before the next Sunday.  I will not see them again until the Fall when they come back to camp for a few weeks.

That was a huge bit of coincidence, wasn’t it?  I just happened to show up on the last Sunday that two sets of people who have become good friends to my ministry over the years.  I made a choice.  They made a choice.  These two choices just happened to intersect.

Sorry, but no, not according to my worldview and theological bent.  I believe that the Lord directed that event in someway, however He does that.

I believe that we all make free will choices.  We decide to do what we want to do, whether it’s putting on a certain pair of socks or buying  a car.

However, somehow, someway, none of these choices we make contradict what theologians would call God’s directive will.  Whatever we do somehow dovetails directly into what God has planned.

God wanted me to see and visit with these two sets of people.  I made the choice that led me to meeting with them.  Don’t ask me how exactly that happens.

It’s a paradox.  And I’m perfectly happy with having some paradox in my life.

No matter what anyone says, I’m convinced that I can’t throw any monkey wrench into God’s will, nor can I ever find myself where He hasn’t decided I will be.

Just don’t ask me the mechanics of it all.

Do you believe in coincidence?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. robshep
    May 6, 2015 at 1:14 pm

    I love how you worded living with a paradox. I find that’s one thing that turns many away from the God. Christians make God so black and white when there are some things we don’t fully understand. We have theories about God that we know but can’t prove. Living with a mindset that says “I believe this, but I could be wrong” or “I believe this but I don’t fully understand it” takes humility. It’s the humility that will draw others into the conversation.

  2. May 6, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    I do not believe in coincidence, luck or chance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

