Home > Christianity, Faith > Changes In Blogging

Changes In Blogging

I used to be extremely consistent writing this little blog.  Day after day I showed up to write and post.  My friend, Jim, even called me “the Cal Ripken of blogging.’

Lately this has not been the case.

I have been wildly inconsistent.  I have struggled to write my normal five days per week.  I backed it down to three days each week and I’ve even struggled with that.

I think I’ve finally realized what the issue is.

Sure, I’ve been busy, but I was busy before.  I have the same amount of time that I did when I wrote posts weeks ahead of time.

The problem is that I’m not sure what I want to write anymore.

I have been writing this blog for just over four years now.  I wrote a couple of other blogs for a couple of years before that.  All told, I’ve been writing and blogging for almost seven years now.

The problem is that I haven’t been writing for myself first.

On the surface that sounds like a selfish statement, but I don’t think writing is any different from brushing my teeth or combing my hair.  Well, let’s skip that last one.  I haven’t combed my hair in years now.

I haven’t been writing what makes me happy.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love writing about faith, but that’s not everything I want to write about.  I have some other interests in life too.

I’m doing some soul-searching right now.  I’m looking deep within myself at what all I want to write about.  I want to give a clearer picture of who I am and, in turn, I want that to make a difference in people’s lives.

I don’t think I’m unique. If I write about what I need and want to learn through writing, I expect there are other people out there like. me.

Thanks to all my friends who hang with me even when I ‘mstruggling.

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. May 27, 2015 at 1:04 am

    Larry, I feel you. I’m kinda there, too. Hit my wall a bit sooner than you. Think I’m coming out of it. Kinda have only been posting when I felt like there was something I needed to say. Like today, for instance. Hang in there, bro! You’re one of the good ones. 🙂

  2. May 27, 2015 at 1:20 am

    Even Cal Ripken ended his streak (eventually) Larry 🙂 I’d suggest going over to Medium.com and writing about ANYTHING that you want. ABSOLUTELY anything. There is no pressure on you at all in a new space like that and I bet you will find it refreshing.

  3. Ed
    May 27, 2015 at 2:15 am

    running out of words to say? Happens all the time…

  4. May 27, 2015 at 6:34 am

    Will hang in there with you my friend. Find your heart again.

  5. robshep
    May 27, 2015 at 9:49 am

    Struggle away. That’s a part of the journey. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  6. May 27, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    I can’t keep up with reading every day much less writing. As the commercial says, you’ve come a long way, baby! Write what you are inspired to write, I say. You’ll be a better writer due to the passion behind it and it will benefit us as readers too.

  7. jonstolpe
    May 28, 2015 at 9:47 am

    Larry, I can totally relate. I have been feeling the same way lately. I think some of my struggle is my misguided motivation for writing. I want to write to glorify God and to stretch myself. Instead, I often write for the feedback of praise of others. When the feedback is terrible or non-existent, I want to give up. Your post today encourages me to struggle on.

  1. June 1, 2015 at 6:01 am

Leave a Reply

