Home > Blogging > A Secret I’ll Let You In On

A Secret I’ll Let You In On

My son called me yesterday morning.  He does that a lot of times during summer break.  It’s always good to hear from him when he wakes up.

He proceeded to ask me if I knew what I had said before going to bed the previous night.  I’m prone to dozing off while watching TV.  When I wake up to go to bed, I tend to say some crazy things.

Evidently Andrew asked me if I would ride a roller coaster that goes around 120 miles per hour.  I, in turn, evidently said no.

Andrew asked me again when he called me, expecting a different answer.  My answer, however, had not changed.  I absolutely have no interest in riding a roller coaster that fast.

The reason I gave each time was not different either.  The reason I don’t want to ride this fast coaster is simple.

Fear.

*****

For as long as I can remember, I was taught to be afraid of roller coasters.  My grandparents rode one by mistake before I was born.  They had no idea what they were getting into, but found out soon enough.

My parents taught me to be afraid of roller coasters as well.  There was never anything good said about them.  My fear of them grew until I reached the age of nineteen.  Finally, at that late age, I rode roller coasters at Six Flags.  And I had a good time.

*****

A couple of weeks ago we went to Dollywood.  We had not been in a few years.  We got there late, so all we did was go ride each roller coaster they have there.

Guess what?

I was afraid each time I got on the roller coaster.

Yes, I now ride roller coasters.  I look forward to riding them.  Yet I am still afraid each time I ride a roller coaster.

*****

That’s kind of the way it is in life, isn’t it?  You face things that you fear.  You have a choice.  You can either turn tail and run in the other direction or you can embrace them.

I choose to ride the roller coaster despite being scared to death each time I get on one.  That’s the only way I know how to face life.

It’s a secret that not too many know.  Now I’ve let you in on it.

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. May 29, 2015 at 6:36 am

    I used to love roller coasters. Anything that didn’t go in circles was fine. But age and a cranky back has taken the fun out of riding.

  2. May 29, 2015 at 8:54 am

    I love roller coasters, but anything that spins (like the Tilt-A-Whirl) makes me sick now. I think you’re right: it’s only in facing our fears that we overcome them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

