Home > Blogging > We All Need More Coaches In Our Lives

We All Need More Coaches In Our Lives

When I look back at my life I can recall some really good coaches in my life.

Coach Johnny Montgomery taught me how to play football.

Coach Lawson and Coach Bill Hooks who led a different group of boys each year to countless undefeated season and championships in Little League football.

Coaches Jerry and Johnny Blair who turned many of these same boys into baseball players.

Coach Kyle Morrell and Coach Mac Pickle who poured their hearts and souls into runners who would win individual and team championships.

I learned a lot from each of these coaches.  Chances are you had coaches as a kid and learned from them as well.  As I think back to them, I realized something else.

We all still need coaches in our lives.

Our pastors are spiritual coaches in our lives.

Many of us could stand to have some marital coaching, whether our marriages are strong or frail.

Some of us struggle in all sorts of relationships and could use some coaching from a counselor or two.

Financial advisers are financial coaches.

Our bosses and other mentors in our career are coaches.

Sometimes we need help with making physical changes and need a fitness coach.

There could be all sorts of people who coach us mentally and intellectually.

The bottom line is that we need coaches in our lives.  Multiple coaches.

Coaches can do all sorts of things for us that we normally could not do.  My boss advised me to go speak to someone in our company recently.  He felt that speaking to this team member about an issue would save me countless hours in taking an action.  She coached me through my thought process even though she may not have called it that.

What I am finding out more as I go along is that the weakest people think they can do it all with no help from anyone else.  Truly strong people seek advice and help in the areas of their life that are important to them.

Let’s not be so proud that we do not seek out others who can point us in the right direction in a multitude of areas in our lives.

Do you have coaches in your life?  What area do you have a coach that might be surprising?

 

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. June 4, 2015 at 3:45 am

    No I don’t have a coach in my life. I wish I did. But I’m sooo introverted it’s not even funny!

  2. robshep
    June 4, 2015 at 10:35 am

    Great insight. Amateurs learn by mistakes, professionals learn by coaching.

  3. jonstolpe
    June 4, 2015 at 4:18 pm

    Not sure if you knew this or not, but my wife is a Life Purpose Coach. She coaches people to help them discover and pursue their purpose. Her main focus is women who are transitioning from motherhood back into the workforce. (leannestolpe.com if you want more info.)

    I agree. We all need some coaching. I’d like to pursue this for my writing.

    • June 4, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      I feel a similar tug. I’ll have to check out Leanne’s website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

