Home > Blogging > What Is Deuceology?

What Is Deuceology?

A few years ago I spent a lot of time trying to learn to play the mandolin.  One of the activities involved with learning the instrument was group lessons.  My teacher would occasionally take a Saturday and invite his students to an activity designed to teach us how to play together.

One of the students played the song Margaritaville.  The student’s parents were there and expressed that this was the family’s philosophy of life.  I remember being somewhat astounded that they were teaching their child this as a life philosophy, but that isn’t the point of this post.

We all have a philosophy of life whether we have defined it or not.  When I started this blog, I defined Deuceology as where I met theology.  I realize, now, that is just part of it.

Deuceology is really my philosophy of life.  It  has nothing to do with Jimmy Buffet tunes.  Instead it is made up of the seven most important aspects of my life.

The first, and foundation, is my faith.  Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior.  He is the Son of God and died on the cross for our sins.  He rose again on the third day, defeating sin and death so that those who place their faith in Him can have eternal life.

The next component of Deuceology is family.  My family is important to me.  I love my wife and my children more than any others in the world.  I love spending time with them.  My family is on the verge of growing as my daughter is nearing the age where she will is not far from marrying.

Fitness is important me as well.  I’m not much use to anyone else if I am not physically fit.  Through running and walking, I average around 20,000 steps each day.  I want to add some other exercise to my routine in the near future that will help me have a quality of life as I age.

Healthy finances are vital to Deuceology.  My aim is to be a steward of what the Lord has blessed me with.  I hope to be debt free so that I can do things with my finances that will glorify the Lord.

My friends are important to me.  I am not the kind of person who has never met a stranger.  I value the close friends I have, as well as the wonderful friends I have met through blogging and social media.

I seek to stimulate my mind in various ways ( I couldn’t figure out a word that starts with F to continue the theme.  If you can, let me know.)  I seek to fill my mind with positive stimuli such as good books and podcasts.

Finally, my calling is an important part of Deuceology.  The Lord has blessed me with the job I have and it provides for my family and me.  I preach the gospel several times each year and I write this blog.  I believe that God has called me to

This isn’t rocket science.  All of these are little pieces of me and who I am.  They form the philosophy of life I call Deuceology.

Do you have an Ology of life?

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. June 8, 2015 at 1:23 am

    You could Fire up your mind or Fulfill intellectual needs. Those are pretty weak. That’s a hard one

  2. robshep
    June 8, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Lots of little pieces make me. My faith, friends, and upbringing all play a part in who I am.

  3. June 8, 2015 at 10:37 am

    Faith, family, friends… My “ology” is to enjoy is to thank God for, and enjoy, the good things He’s given.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

