Home > Blogging > What I Learned On Vacation

What I Learned On Vacation

Last week was a vacation week.  We went to St. Simons Island, GA, a wonderful place where we have vacationed many times over the years.  I learned a few things during the trip that I thought I would share with the Deuceology team.

  1. Pack lighter than you think you should.  We stayed in a condo with a washer and dryer.  It’s not that difficult to throw some laundry in and keep your clothes clean.  You don’t need nearly as many T-shirts or undies as you think you do.
  2. Lack of agendas is good.  We didn’t plan anything.  We woke up when we wanted.  We went to the beach or pool when we wanted to.  We ate when we wanted.
  3. You definitely need time away from everything.  A week without work, mowing the yard or any other responsibilities was nice.
  4. You can take too many books.  I love to get up, get my steps in, eat a bit, read a bit, nap a bit and then do it again throughout the day.  However, I took a few too many books with me.  I couldn’t read them all.  I did put a dent in 1 1/2 books though.
  5. You will realize sometime in life that your vacations with just your nuclear family are finite.  I don’t have many more with the just the four of us.  Our family will be expanding over the next few years with the addition of spouses of our children.  Where have the years gone?

Now, vacation is over.  It’s back to our regularly scheduled programming.  I’m recharged, relaxed and read to go.

Have you been on vacation lately or do you have one planned?  Tell us about it.

Categories: Blogging
  1. robshep
    June 30, 2015 at 9:05 am

    I went on a vacation that was straight out of National Lampoon. Everything went wrong. No AC in the beach house when it was Haiti hot outside. We left early only to get home and our house AC broke. It would be funny if it happened to someone else.

  2. jonstolpe
    July 2, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Heading to Myrtle Beach in SC later this month. I probably should stay out of the ocean or I may be tempted to attack a shark. Let me know if you’d be up for a guest post on my blog while I’m away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

