Home > Blogging, Family > What July 4 Means To Me

What July 4 Means To Me

Tomorrow is Independence Day, so I just thought I would throw out what the day means to me. As with anything, there are important, small, serious and silly reasons I love the day. 

Of course the birth of our nation is the first thing that comes to mind. I love the fact that we live in the greatest nation on earth. It’s easy to forget that when circumstances in the news are negative or changes in the culture don’t go your way. Despite that, I would not want to live anywhere else.

The firrst July 4 ai really remember is 1975. My baby sister was born and it changed my life. I had the chance to talk to her last night and will again tomorrow.  Red, white and blue birthday cakes were part of my July 4’s growing up and we’re always a highlight of the year.

1976 was my favorite July 4. The Bicentennial year was exciting to me. There was a special song that was put out. I still get excited every time I find a Bicentennial quarter. I hope a similar emphasis is put on the day in 2026.

Tomorrow will also bring the opportunity to watch the Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog Eating Contest on Coney Island. Watching competitive eaters down 70 hot dogs in ten minutes is a tradition in our home.

The Tour de France kicks off this year’s tour Satrday and I plan to watch as much of it as possible. Yes, Lance Armstrong doped, lied and is basically a terrible human being, but he beat other dopers and liars. This race still excites me.

Our family will get together and eat as my father-in-law will be smoking some pork. Quite the spread will be put on. If there is a break in the rain there are even some new for cornhole boards to break in.

Finally, our small town of Townsend will have its annual fireworks show. It isn’t the biggest or best, but we have a lot of love and pride in our little display. 

What do you like about the 4th of July? What are your plans?

Categories: Blogging, Family Tags: ,
  1. July 3, 2015 at 10:34 am

    with all the crazy stuff going on in our country–
    It’s still great to be free

  2. jonstolpe
    July 6, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    Despite all the recent comments about God, country, and loyalty. There really seemed to be a sens of patriotism amongst the people celebrating July 4th around me. I vacationed in Ocean City, MD for a couple of days over the weekend, and everyone was waving flags and wearing red, white, and blue. I like that despite our differences, our culture can find ways to celebrate together. We need this!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

