Home > Blogging, Fitness > What I Learned From Chasing 35,000 Steps

What I Learned From Chasing 35,000 Steps

This past Sunday I set a record.  I set my PR for daily steps with just over 37,000.  My goal as I began the day was 35,000, so I overachieved.  Interestingly enough, I learned a few lessons chasing my goal and, of course, thought I would share.

First, let me tell you why I sought this goal.  As some of you know, I wear a Fitbit that tracks my steps.  I have numerous friends and coworkers who are my friends through the Fitbit app.  For the past year I have been number one both on my list and almost everyone else’s list as well.

Someone at work told me that I ought to friend another coworker last Friday, so I did.  Since then my world has been turned upside down.  I have slipped to number two on my own list as well as several of those coworkers that I have led for the past year.

I didn’t really find out that I was trailing this stepping machine until Sunday morning.  I woke up to find myself 15,000 steps behind.  I went for my normal Sunday morning walk and was still 3,000 steps behind when I went to church.

Following church and lunch, I got a few steps walking to my in-laws.  After taking a short nap and visiting for a bit, I set off to catch my opponent.  I walked another 15,000 steps and hit 30,000 for the day.  At 4:30 in the afternoon.

I had never hit 35,000 steps, so I rested and then set out to finish out my steps.  Not to be satisfied with my goal, I exceeded it and then wound up with the 37,000.

And somehow I was still 2,000 behind when I went to bed.

As I thought through my achievement and my failure, I wondered what I had learned.  Here is what I came up with.

First, you can’t stay on top forever.  Someone, some business, some team is going to take you down eventually.  I had a good run at being number one in my circle for about a year.  Now, I’m having my hat handed to me.

Second, you can’t be satisfied with staying where you are.  For so long, what I was doing kept me on top.  Now, I can’t do the same thing everyday.  I have to make adjustments to try to overtake my competition.

Third, competition is good.  Without competition, you tend to stay stagnant.  This is closely tied to the previous point, but maybe just the other side of the coin.  Competition pushes you. It stretches you.  Competition takes you where you couldn’t go on your own.

Finally, it is good to be humbled.  Pride has a tendency to creep in, especially when you don’t realize it.  I had become known as the Fitbit steps guy.  I had some folks poke some good-natured fun at me today when they saw that I was not on top any longer.  It was good for me to hear and feel that.

So what’s next?  Well, let’s see where I am at the end of the week.  I’m going to chase my friend and see if I can catch him over the next few days.

Categories: Blogging, Fitness Tags: , ,
  1. July 15, 2015 at 8:12 am

    Dude that is some serious stepping. What does that other guy do? Sheesh!

  2. robshep
    July 15, 2015 at 11:05 am

    You are a machine!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

