Home > Blogging > What Lack Of Margin Did To Me

What Lack Of Margin Did To Me

If you haven’t noticed this is the first post I’ve written in a week.  There is really just one reason this happened and it can be summed up in one word.

Margin.

I have simply gotten to the point where there is little margin in my life.  Let’s look at the important things in life that I spend time on.

I try to spend time with God daily.

I spend time with my family who are important to me.

I spend time working on my fitness trying to make sure that I am healthy for the rest of my life.

I spend time working at my job which provides for me and my family.

I have been spending time working on my finances making sure that we are using God’s blessing for God’s glory.

I spend time with friends when I have time.

I spend time reading working to expand my mind.

That doesn’t count the other things in life that you have to do like mow the yard, other chores and other things that creep into life.

I simply didn’t have enough margin built into life last week to take care of something else very important to me, namely writing this blog.

I think we spend too much time filling our lives with various things when we should learn the power of saying “No” and building needed margin into our lives.  Just like we need margin in our finances, we need it in our broader life as well.

I want to encourage you to do what I need to do as well.  Increase our margin so that we have extra to give when we need to give it.  Guard our time and lives from the creep that tends to sneak into our lives while we aren’t looking.

Do you ever find yourself without enough margin in your life?

 

Categories: Blogging
  1. July 27, 2015 at 7:40 am

    We must have had the same idea last week. I posted maybe two or three times instead of every day.

    • July 27, 2015 at 7:41 am

      I think that’s what we have to do something sometimes, Bill

  2. robshep
    July 27, 2015 at 9:32 am

    I’ve been there. For sure!

  3. jonstolpe
    August 2, 2015 at 8:32 am

    Absolutely. I have slowed my blogging a bit in an effort to create more margin. I think it will be a challenge for a long, long time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

