Home > Blogging > How To Change The World

How To Change The World

This is not an original thought of mine.  I have decided that, really, I have few original thoughts.  However, hearing this a couple of times lately, I thought I’d better perk up.  And I won’t say it here exactly how I heard it, but it carries the same idea.

If I set out to change the world, I’ll probably fail.  The task is so enormous.  Who can do that?

If I set out to change my nation, I’ll probably fail.  Though considerably smaller, it is still too big.

If I set out to change my locality, I’m still probably not going to achieve that either.

I may even fail if I try to change my family, or even one other person.

Where does that leave me?

The only person I can truly change is myself.  In fact, I’ve done that before.  I have changed a thought and changed an attitude.

By changing myself, I may be able to influence someone else or my family  to change.

Someone else or my family may influence others to change.

These others changing may change our locality.

Our locality changing my change our nation.

Our nation may change the world.

Too often we spend too much time concerned over what in the world needs to change, overlooking what needs to change in ourselves.

Let’s focus on what we can truly change and let that affect the world for good.

 Want to change the world?  Change yourself.

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. July 29, 2015 at 9:49 am

    So true Larry. I tell couples who come in for counseling that if they want to change their spouse…don’t. Start with yourself.

  2. robshep
    July 29, 2015 at 10:00 am

    Bam. Nailed it!

  3. Steve Y
    July 29, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    I need lots of changes.

  4. jonstolpe
    August 2, 2015 at 8:31 am

    True. I also think we may try to bite off more than we can chew. Big change happens once small bite at a time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

