Home > Blogging > Do You Have Limiting Beliefs?

Do You Have Limiting Beliefs?

What do you believe about yourself and your life?

I ask that because of something that I caught myself doing recently.

A possible situation came up and my first thought was, “I can’t do that.”  I thought this to the point that I considered not even pursuing an opportunity.

Guess what?  If I kept that mindset I was right.  I could not do what I was considering.  In fact, I would not do come close to this opportunity.

This situation reminded me of something my boss told me a few years ago.  We were talking about my future and I asked him what I could do beyond my position at the time.  His answer?  “You can do whatever you want to do.”

He did not have a limiting belief in what I could do.  He believed that my ability was far beyond, perhaps, what I believed about myself.

I think sometimes we stop ourselves before we can even start.  We limit ourselves to something far shorter than we are capable of.  We hold ourselves back when we should be like a racehorse entering the gates.

For thirty-seven years, no horse won the Triple Crown.  Several horses won the first two legs only to fail in the Belmont.  This year American Pharoah won all three races of the Triple Crown.

What if everyone from the jockey to the trainers and owners thought that winning the first two races was good enough.  What if they thought that no horse had won in decades so why should they?  I would guess that it would have been much harder to win the race.  They would have limited their outcome and perhaps made a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Let’s not be own worst own enemy.  Let’s eliminate our limiting beliefs.  Let’s accomplish more than we think we are capable of.

Have you ever been guilty of limiting beliefs in your life?

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. August 6, 2015 at 5:49 am

    This reminds me of something my Grandfather told me when I was a youngster on the reservation. He told me the only limits I have are the ones I place on myself. If you can dream it, you can do it. Don’t limit the self, reach beyond the horizon and feel the riches of life.

    Wonderful post Larry!

    Your Brother in Christ,

    Ed

  2. August 6, 2015 at 6:38 am

    Well said Larry. Particularly liked the reference to AP and the Triple Crown. 2 and done or all 3.

  3. robshep
    August 6, 2015 at 8:49 am

    Yes. I did this with running. Said I’d never do a half marathon but then ended up doing 3. It took some friends encouraging me, but I did it.

  4. jonstolpe
    August 6, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Ahhh, yes. After a family crisis five years ago, I didn’t believe travel overseas for missions was possible.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

