Home > Blogging, Movies > Fantastic Four: A Movie Non-Review

Fantastic Four: A Movie Non-Review

If you have been around this site for a while then you know that I love superhero/comic book movies.  I try my best not to miss them.  I love the MCU and can’t wait for the DC Cinematic Universe to really crank up.  I have seen Age of Ultron and Ant-Man this summer.  Fantastic Four was the next one up and for much of the past year expected to see it.

So far, I have not.

That’s not to say I won’t.  I may go see it next weekend during a matinee.  However, I’m not hopeful that I will like it.

Once the movie was cast and production began, I have heard nothing good about it.  Of course there were crazy rumors, but those of us who follow these things closely never heard anything positive about it over the last year.

You would think that Josh Trank, who directed a really good movie in Chronicle, would be a great choice to helm Marvel’s first family.  Miles Teller is a hot young actor now.  Michael B. Jordan, whether you agree with his casting as Johnny Storm or not, is an extremely talented young man.  Kate Mara seems like she would make a great Sue Storm.

Alas, critics and the box office both agreed this one was a dud.  It opened up making about half of what the terrible Fantastic Four movies from a decade ago made.  Trank himself tweeted out his dismay about how this movie turned out.  A planned sequel for two-year off is probably being scrapped.  It scored on the level of Catwoman on Rotten Tomatoes.

It breaks my heart when a comic book movie turns out this bad.  The question I ask myself is why?

I wonder if it has to do with the love of these characters.  If it wasn’t for the FF, we wouldn’t have any other Marvel characters on-screen.  That means no X-Men at Fox and certainly no MCU characters at Marvel Studios.  So what happens next?

Fox wants to develop an X-Men TV show.  However, right now they can’t.  They only hold the movie rights.  Marvel Studios holds the TV rights.  I know that’s pretty confusing, but several years ago, Marvel was nearly bankrupt.  They sold the movie right to several characters to several studios.  Sony got Spider-Man.  Universal still holds distribution right to the Hulk.  Fox got X-Men, Fantastic Four and Daredevil.  So far, they have only succeeded with X-men.

Maybe Marvel would work out a trade.  Maybe they will give the TV right to X-Men for the movie rights to the Fantastic Four.  They can let this box office bomb settle for a while.  Then they can introduce the characters in some Marvel Phase 4 movies and redeem them before they send them back out for their own adventures in cinema again.

Let’s hope so.

If I go see this movie next week I’ll post an actual review and give my thoughts on the actual content.  Until then, I will silently weep for the fate of these characters who deserve much better than how they have been treated for the past decade or so.

Categories: Blogging, Movies Tags:
  1. August 10, 2015 at 2:36 am

    I actually liked the first two movie attempts at the Fantastic Four. But the chemistry between the actors and or characters just didn’t seem to work even in those. Although I am just as excited to see it myself, I will probably wait for the DVD rental to come out. Other than that, I do love the Fantastic Four Comics.

  2. August 10, 2015 at 6:37 am

    I’ve heard nothing good about this movie. We did go see Ant Man and were really pleased. Our grandson thought it was great. Good mix of humor and action. Good story as well.

  3. robshep
    August 10, 2015 at 8:23 am

    I was going to see it, but then we came to the same conclusions you did. We passed on seeing it this weekend. We may see it for a matinee.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

