Home > Blogging > An Unintentional Break

An Unintentional Break

If you haven’t noticed, I haven’t posted to my blog in a while.  In fact, I haven’t posted a piece since

This was not entirely intentional.

The first one I missed was.  I was tired.  I didn’t know what to write, so I took a Friday off.

The others were on purpose.

I live in an area where I cannot get cable internet or DSL or anything like that.  I actually have to use my iPhone as my internet connection.

For nearly a week we were at our data limit.  So, I just hit pause on Deuceology until our cycle rolled over.

I found out that this was just what I needed.

I did not realize until then just how badly I needed a break.  The words had not been coming easily.  I didn’t really know what to write about any more.  My energy was depleted.  I was close to pulling the plug on the entire thing.

Here’s the thing.  I started writing some version of this thing nearly seven years ago.  Four of those years have solidly been here at good old Deuceology.  I started out writing because I wanted to say things that I either couldn’t or didn’t have time to say in my old Sunday school class.

Slowly, but surely, it morphed into this thing.  I have gone from writing whenever I had something on my mind to writing seven days a week to the point where I am now normally down to three days a week.

For the past few weeks I’ve wondered if I still had something to say.  I’ve come close to just quitting.  I’ve wondered if I really wanted to keep doing this.

I found out in the interim that I do have something to say.  While my focus for the majority of my time has been on faith, I’m going to open things up a little.  Know, though, that my faith is always the foundation of what I’m thinking, even if you don’t exactly see it.

My plan is to be more consistent, while I am considering, perhaps, moving my base of operations for all things Deuceology.  Not sure about that one yet.  Still contemplating it.

See you guys Wednesday.

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. August 24, 2015 at 9:17 am

    I noticed but figured it was the internet connection. I guess I was part right. I have had some time away this summer as well. Not long or consistently but enough to make me question and to come back feeling better.

  2. robshep
    August 24, 2015 at 9:33 am

    I’m excited to see what the future holds!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

