Home > Uncategorized > Why I’m Not Seeing War Room

Why I’m Not Seeing War Room

My church is going to see the movie War Room tonight. It is a film produced by the same folks who brought us Fireproof, Courageous, and Facing The Giants.  The church is buying out an advanced showing so that we can go see this movie together. 

I”m not going though.

Oh, I’ll eventually see it when comes to DVD, but there are a few reasons I’m not going to the theater.

Nimber one, I’m not sure I could stay awake through it. Going out on a work night is hard. After waking up at 4:30 everyday, I just want to go home and chill after work. I struggle to stay awake many nights until 9:00. A theater full of folks don’t need to hear me snore.

Another is that, yes, I love movies. If you have been with me a while you know that.  I reserve going out for a movie for something special. What I mean by that is that is has to be something epic or on a grand scale. Otherwise, I wait on my DVD to arrive from Netflix.

The next reason is a more personal, quirky reason. My favorite movies are those where I can get away from everything for a couple of hours. I don’t want to do a lot of thinking. This one is designed to do just that, make me think. I realize that’s shallow and not PC in the church world,’but that’s just how it is for me.

So, I won’t be seeing War Roon tonight. I’ll see it later. When it’s over tonight, I’ll probably be dozing when all my friends are leaving.

Will you be seeing War Roon? Have you heard of it?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ed
    August 26, 2015 at 3:11 am

    Right after I see Avengers: Age of Ultron…
    Say what???
    Yep, haven’t seen it, and I haven’t seen Ant Man either…

  2. August 26, 2015 at 5:30 am

    I will see it when it comes to UP tv in a few months. I don’t go to theaters either for other reasons. Too many sick people spreading illness. I really enjoy your posts!

  3. August 26, 2015 at 6:05 am

    Nope and yep. Nope I have no plans to see it and yep have heard about it but couldn’t really tell you what it is about.

  4. Steve Y
    August 26, 2015 at 7:44 am

    We are going on Saturday at noon, so good time of the day to go for me. Actually, have enjoyed all their movies so, excited about this one.

  5. robshep
    August 26, 2015 at 10:10 am

    I might go see this one with my parents. They are really interested, so I will go for them.

    • August 26, 2015 at 10:17 am

      Rob, I think part of it is that I don’t like message movies. I don’t like going to movies that I’m supposed to go see.

  6. August 26, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    A group of ladies from my bible study are going to see it, looking forward to talking about it afterwards.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

