Home > Blogging > What’s Been Holding Me Back

What’s Been Holding Me Back

Just a short post today. I really would have liked to have written something longer, but something held me back.

It’s the same thing that’s been holding me back a lot lately.

We all face our own version of what Pressfield calls the Resistance.   I certainly have lately.

After four years of Deuceology and nearly seven years of blogging, I’m facing something I haven’t really faced before.

I’m afraid to write.

I know. That sounds strange. But it’s true.

Suddenly, I’m scared to write. Even as I’m writing about being scared to write.

I’ll get over it eventually. I’m sure of it.

What are you afraid of?

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. jonstolpe
    September 2, 2015 at 5:48 am

    I’m afraid of the doberman down the street. The other morning at 4AM, I went out to take my morning walk, and the neighbors had their dog out. As soon as I turned out of my driveway to go that direction, I heard the dog bark at me in the darkness of the early morning. I immediately stopped and turned around. On this morning, I decided to walk the other direction on my road. That dog scares me – especially when I can’t even see him.

  2. September 2, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I “fear” getting hit while riding my bike. Too much distraction for drivers these days. I also “fear” getting up to preach and not remembering anything I have studied.

  3. robshep
    September 2, 2015 at 8:01 am

    What’s inspiring this fear?

    • September 2, 2015 at 8:06 pm

      That I’m not good enough, that I don’t have anything to say.

  4. September 2, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    It’s my understanding that the one thing writers hate is…writing. So there, you REALLY are a writer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

