Home > Blogging > Finding Out I’m A Libertarian

Finding Out I’m A Libertarian

Andrew, my son, gave me a quiz last night.  It was ten questions that were given to him in his government class that he’s taking during his senior year of high school.  In my growing attempt to be transparent and get to know everyone better, here are the statements I was asked to agree with, disagree with, or answer maybe to:

  1. Government should not censor speech, press, media or Internet
  2. Military should be voluntary. There should be no draft.
  3. There should be no laws regarding sex for consenting adults.
  4. Repeal laws prohibiting adult possession and use of drugs.
  5. Let peaceful people cross borders freely.
  6. End corporate welfare.  No government handouts for business.
  7. End government barriers to international free trade.
  8. Replace government welfare with private charity.
  9. Let people control their own retirement. Privatize Social Security.
  10. Cut taxes and government spending by 50% or greater.

My answers?

  1. I don’t think the government should censor speech, press, media or Internet.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t think there are consequences to these things.  I agreed with this one.
  2. I said maybe on this one.  I’m a little conflicted on this one.  I think mandatory military service would do many of us a great deal of good.  However, most of the time I think it should be voluntary.  During times of war?  Draft away.
  3. I agreed with this one.  I think the government should stay out of people’s sex lives.  This is America, where we should be free to sin away if we want to.  I don’t encourage this behavior.  I just believe in the freedom to do it.
  4. I hate drugs and what they do to people.  Most drugs should be illegal.  However, I gave this one a maybe.
  5. I believe that America is the land of opportunity and we all come from immigrants.  If people can come here and better their lives, I say come on.
  6. I believe that if a business is going to file bankruptcy or fail, then the government should not intervene.  I know that might be tough on the employees, but I don’t think we are entitled to have jobs.  The government should not go into debt or tax its citizens  to save a business from hard times.
  7. I don’t think there should be any barriers to free international trade.  In either direction.
  8. I think that the government is terribly inefficient with anything they touch.  This includes helping the needy.  Looking forward to cutting my taxes and government spending, I would rather give my money to private organizations that operated locally.
  9. I made my grandmother mad a few years ago with my answer to this one.  I told her if I had the choice I would opt out of Social Security and put that money in my own private retirement.  She asked who would pay for her Social Security.  I think she thought I wanted hers to dry up.
  10. Yes, yes, yes.  Do this at every level.  I think that the federal government should be involved in few things.  A military to protect for the common defense.  The interstate highway system.  Not much else.  Everything else should be handled as locally as possible.

Does this have anything to do with my faith?  I have no idea.  I can’t point to any verses that support this.  We often hear about separation of church and state.  I believe in that.  I think the government should stay out of our faith.  For the most part, I think the government should stay out of our lives as much as possible.  Evidently this makes me a Libertarian.

How would you answer these questions?

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. robshep
    September 10, 2015 at 10:42 am

    I might be one too, based off that description.

  2. September 10, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    I don’t know how to answer that. But I do think that the government should be as transparent as possible. In other words, do your job for the better of our nation and not for the worst.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

