Home > Blogging > The Hazards Of Being An Introvert

The Hazards Of Being An Introvert

I missed you guys Monday.

I had every intention of writing a post to share, but alas it didn’t happen.  The events of the weekend prevented it.

Friday night was spent at high school football among a couple thousand people.

Saturday was spent in the midst of 102,455 for hours.

Sunday was spent driving for a couple of hours to a family reunion to hang out with around twenty or so people.

I was bushed when I got home.  In fact, I still haven’t recovered completely.  I’m still worn out and exhausted as I write this.

I’ve been wondering why I just can’t seem to muster up the output that I used to with this blog.  I’ve blamed it on a lot of things, but I believe that I have finally gotten to the bottom of it.

I’m an introvert.

Three consecutive days of being in various sized crowds, following my normal days at work, left me completely wiped out.  I didn’t get to spend any “me” time like I normally do on the weekends.

I’ve come to realize that this is where my ideas would come from and be fleshed out.  I normally get up early on the weekends and spend time by myself before everyone else gets up.  I have time to think, ponder and think about what I wanted to write.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t like people.  I love them and love spending time with them.  As long as I get that time away from them as well.  As long as I get some time to myself.

It’s not an introverts world out there.  You have to be intentional about spending time the way you need to so that you can survive as an introvert.

Last weekend was the hazards of being an introvert.  Sometimes you find yourself in situations that stretch you well past your limits.  You have to recover and move on.  The positive is that it finally alerted me to how it was affecting this very important writing and blogging part of my life.  I can adjust from here.

Introvert or extrovert?  Ever find yourself in extended situations that drain your energy?

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. September 16, 2015 at 6:58 am

    I’m an extreme extrovert but even I will admit to there being times I need to alone and have some “me” time. I usually find that on the bicycle.

  2. September 16, 2015 at 9:46 am

    I love people, but I’m an introvert too. Definitely need alone recharge time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

