Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > The Best Reason To Read The Bible

The Best Reason To Read The Bible

I was reading the Bible the other.  That shouldn’t be a surprise since I’m a Christian.  However, as I read it, I wondered why other people read it.  Or I should say other Christians.  I know why I was reading it, but I sometimes wonder if all of us are reading it for the right reasons.  Here are some reasons why you may be reading it.

You might read the Bible to complete a year-long Bible reading plan.  Of course the prevalence of these will increase as we begin to wind down the year and the new year approaches.

You might read the Bible in order to prepare for a Bible study that you are preparing to teach or attend.  It is always good to know what you are talking about before you get started.

You might read the Bible to know God’s will.  To know this, God’s word is a good place to start.

Perhaps you read the Bible to prove a point.  Someone has challenged you on a point and you need back up.  God’s word is a tool that is often used for this.

Some people read the Bible to prove science.  I don’t think this one is good since the Bible is not a science text.  It is a book of narrative history, poetry, prophecy, wisdom literature and more.

There may be other reasons to read the Bible, but none of these are the best reason at all.  What is the best reason to read the Bible?

To know God.

It’s that simple.  If you want to know God that is the best reason to read the Bible.  Is it the only way?  No.  We have the Holy Spirit.  We can look at the world He has created.  We can know Him through the Church.  We can minister to others and countless other ways.

But reading His word, we all should begin and end with that.

How have you come to know God throughout your life?  What is the best way for you to know God consistently?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags:
  1. September 23, 2015 at 6:16 am

    While I came to know God through the bible, I have learned He is with me in my everyday life, through every action I do. As a Christian, God lives in my heart and therefore guides my every move and decision. I trust Him to guide me through life and know where He leads me will be fully blessed.

    It is one thing to say you are a Christian, it is another to walk the walk and be a living example of what He expects a Christian to be. The light you shine should lead others to Him. Your light just may be the only bible others ever read. Little acts of kindness, a bit of love goes a long way and is never wasted.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed

  2. September 23, 2015 at 11:05 am

    I read the Bible for multiple reasons. One is to know God. The main reason is to focus my daily walk on His desire for me and how to live that out.

  3. September 23, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Lately? The Bible and silence before God. I have a lot to learn about the silence thing (said the guy who is typing instead of being silent).

  4. September 23, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    And then I’ll leave this comment so that I can request notifications of comments. In other words, this is my “no comment” comment.

  5. robshep
    September 24, 2015 at 9:36 am

    Getting to know God is one of the most beautiful and frustrating things I do. There are times where I just want an answer or an audible voice and I’m called to have faith. There are other times He speaks through the Bible or even through a still small voice and it is so clear that it’s Him. The Bible helps me form my thoughts and know what to do and how to do it. It also reminds me that I have a God that loves imperfect people a lot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

