Home > Blogging, Christianity > What Is Your Brand?

What Is Your Brand?

If you read a lot of blogs, like I do, you run across an idea quite often.  When I say quite often, I mean a lot.

The idea is brand.

I think we all understand, on some level, what a brand it.

McDonald’s is a brand.  When I used to see the Golden Arches I thought of a nice clean bathroom.  Now what I see is a company that really doesn’t know how to transition itself to make itself relevant to desires of a new generation.  Is Mickey D’s still a fast food restaurant?  A coffee shop?  A healthy alternative?  A place to get breakfast any time of the day?

Chick Fil A?  It is their pleasure to serve you excellent Christian chicken six days a week.

Sears?  It used to mean a Christmas Wishbook.  Now it doesn’t quite know if it the old Sears and Roebuck or Kmart.

Apple?  A strong brand.

Google?  Ditto

General Motors?  It isn’t what it used to be.

Obviously brands can rise and fall.  Just wait.  Something will new will come along and some of these others will fade or disappear all together.

What about you?  What’s your brand?

If you write a blog, tweet or post on Facebook you have a brand.  Even if you don’t do these, you have a brand.

What do the cashiers at the stores you frequent think when they see you enter?

How about the waitresses at the restaurants you dine at?

What is your personal brand?

I’ve been reading quite a bit of Paul for the past few months.  I read and preached Ephesians at the campground and now I’m dialing in on Titus as I finish the season.

One of the things that I realize is that we have a brand before we come to know Christ.  We are known for one kind of lifestyle.  It’s not necessarily bad, but it definitely doesn’t follow God through Christ.

How about after we come to know Christ as our savior?  What’s our brand once that has happened?  Does it differ from the world?  Has it changed?  Are we known by how we follow Christ or by the same old same old?

I was struck by this and convicted at the same time.  By the way, can I still use the word convicted in this 21st century world?  Is that too old time churchy?

Whatever  our brand is, it’s going to come out in our tweets, our Facebook posts, our blog posts and simply our life.

I’m challenged as I move forward.  What is my brand?  Is it consistent with Christ?  I see clearly where I fail at this in so many ways.  I’m sure there are some where I don’t.

How about you?  What’s your brand?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity Tags:
  1. October 12, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    My “Brand” should be Christ’s Brand. Same. If not, It will FADE.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    October 12, 2015 at 6:29 pm

    My brand is not very good. It needs some work.

  3. Ed
    October 13, 2015 at 2:23 am

    My brand is called “Fadeless Christianity”…I should wear it more often. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

