Home > Blogging, Church, Ministry > You Are Made To Give

You Are Made To Give

I heard about a book recently called The Go-Giver. I haven’t read it, but the title has stuck with me.

We are pushed and encouraged to be go-getters all of our life. We are told to pursue the American Dream. We should get what we can while the getting is good.

There’s just one problem. We aren’t really made to be that way.

We are made to be givers.

This has hit me between the eyes a lot lately.

Jon Acuff published a blog post yesterday about how he is using his platform to help an organization that helps women. He is dedicating part of what he built for the benefit of others.

If you are a leader in a business, you are there to give to others. It’s easy to focus on your own goals and dreams. Giving so that others can achieve their goals and dreams is much more rewarding in more ways than one.

What about your community? I’m guilty of focusing on myself without giving any thought to making my surroundings better. Yet if I don’t do it there is no guarantee anyone will.

What about our churches? It’s easy to say that the pastor and staff are paid to do the ministry. Yet how much more could be done if we would all do what we are called to do?

So, I’m challenging myself. Those are three areas I can give. I’m sure there are more. But I can make a difference if I just attack those three.

Zig Ziglar says that you can get all you want if you just help enough people get what they want. Giving is a win-win for all of us. Not to say that our goal should be to give in order to get. It just seems to work out that way.

What about you? Will you join me in focusing on giving more that seeking to get?

Categories: Blogging, Church, Ministry Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

