Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > How To Hear God Speak Today

How To Hear God Speak Today

Sequels are part of Hollywood.  One the things studios try to do is to create a franchise where further adventures of their characters can be told.  Marvel, of course, has mastered this where each movie is a sequel, of sorts, of each movie that came before it.

Today’s post is a sequel.  I reread yesterday’s post about Moses and realized that I left one point out.  This was rather fortunate, guided perhaps by the Hand of Providence, as it really didn’t fit with what was discussed.

Just to recap, if you didn’t read yesterday, Moses ran into an issue where he was wearing himself out. Jethro, his father-in-law, helped him out and gave him a plan.  This benefited Moses and Israel as they moved forward.

I don’t know how many times I’ve read that story, but I have missed something that had been staring at me each time.  I just happened to get it this time.

We’re used to God speaking to Moses in a burning bush.  We are amazed that God delivered the Law to Moses on top of Mount Sinai.  God would meet and speak to Moses in such a way that he had to wear a veil on his face.

Did you notice what happened here though?

Moses faced this problem and God didn’t give him the solution.  At least He didn’t speak to Moses directly.

Instead, Jethro gave Moses a plan, a system and direction.  The Lord didn’t seem to have anything to do with it.

Or did He?

We sometimes wait for the Lord expecting a bolt of lightning or pictures in the sky or something.  We seem to think that the Hand of God will appear and write out what we should do step by step.  It just doesn’t really work that way.

So, how do we hear from God?  Let me list out a few ways that we might hear from God today.

The Bible.  Seems like an obvious one, doesn’t it?  Yet too many of us seek Him every which way but loose instead of turning to His preserved word.  I’m not saying that strep by step direction for every decision in life will come from the Bible, but we would be amazed at how many steps of life could be found if we just took the time to read.

The Church.  I don’t mean simply by going to church, though that’s not a bad thing.  I mean the you might hear from the Lord through His Church.  I hope we all agree that the Church is Christ’s Body.  We probably agree if we read the Bible (see above).  Doesn’t it make sense that He might communicate to us through said Body?

Circumstances.  God may try to get your attention through what goes on around you or, sometimes, to you.  All of us would want these events to be happy and joyful, but that’s simply not what happens every time.  Sometimes bad things do happen to good people.  Or around good people.  Awareness of what’s happening may clue us in to what God is trying to say to us.

How about prayer?  Let’s get one thing straight about prayer.  It isn’t simply creating a grocery list of wants to present to God.  Prayer is a time of worship, where we can adore God, thank Him, listen to Him and, yes, make requests of Him.

Remember what I said yesterday about taking an audit of our lives?  Seeking out specific guidance is sometimes necessary.  And yes, I believe that God can speak through the guides in our lives.

The last thing I will say about any of these is to be cautious.  Sometimes w can hear God’s voice tell us something because we want to hear it.  We want God to give us the direction we want to go.  Before I decided for sure that God was speaking to me, I would test each of these ways for signs that God is speaking.

Are we going to hear God speak in an audible voice?  Not based on my experience.  Will every time we think we hear God be His voice?  I don’t think so.  But this is one thing I know.  The more I hear Him speak, the more I recognize His voice and know when He speaks to me.

How do you hear God speak to you?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

