Home > Christianity, Faith > Common Excuses Holding You Back

Common Excuses Holding You Back

I have probably used every excuse in the book when it comes to my walk with Jesus.  I’m not unique, so more than likely many of you have as well.

These excuses tend to hold us back.  Too often we give lip service to moving forward in our spiritual growth.  We fail and we find our excuse to make us feel better.  In reality, however, these excuses tend to keep us from actually from getting to where we want to do.  What are they?

I‘m not Jesus.

I’m just a sinner.

So, what how do we address these excuses so that we can actually grow in our spiritual walk?

Well sure, we aren’t Jesus.  No one is.  But He didn’t leave us alone.  Before He left Jesus said that He was sending another Helper, one like Him to go with us.  He gave us the Holy Spirit.  We can give the excuse that we aren’t Jesus, but He has given us everything we need to walk with Him successfully through life.  We just have to take advantage of the One he has given us.

Yes, you were a sinner, but you aren’t just a sinner.  If you know Jesus, you have been saved by grace.  You are an heir to God’s kingdom.  Your identity is no longer of being a sinner.  Saying that you are just a sinner is a defeatist attitude.  It actually makes it easier to continue sinning.  Instead, if you take the attitude that you aren’t bound by sin, you can actually move forward in life.

So, what now?

You can hang on to these excuses and never truly get where you want to be as a believer and follower of Christ.  For every step forward, there could be two steps back.

Or you can toss the excuses.  You can claim who you really are and begin living the victorious life Christ promises.

What excuses have you used that have held you back?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. November 2, 2015 at 6:40 am

    So true! I have always thought I was doing something wrong because I knew I wasn’t bound by sin, but everyone around me saying they are just a sinner and continued on with what they were doing.

    I learned at an early age that living in Christ was the most important part of me and I strive to be a living example for Him. Your post gives me hope that I am not the only one who feels this way. Thank you.

    Ed

  2. November 2, 2015 at 7:56 am

    I gave my life to Jesus long time ago but every once in a while I will put out the “I’m only human” card.

  3. November 2, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    My excuse. It’s difficult. Anything worth having is going to take work and yet I love life to be easy. Life becomes easy when you do the hard work. It’s a lesson I learn the hard way over and over again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

