Home > Christianity, Faith > Don’t Just Drive The Bread Truck

Don’t Just Drive The Bread Truck

I read a lot of blogs and listen to a lot of podcasts.  Probably too many.  However, there is one person’s that I don’t miss if I can help it.

My friend, Kimanzi Constable, posts several times per week and joins Jared Easley on the Starve The Doubts podcast.  I love listening to Kimanzi because, no matter what, I am going to get a burst of enthusiasm and encouragement in every offering.

Kimanzi has a fantastic story.  He was in debt, overweight and his marriage was in trouble.  He hated his job and wanted something else.  Since then he has transformed his life in to being a writer, speaker, coach and consultant.  On top of that, he moved his family from Wisconsin to Hawaii and travels the world now speaking.

Here is what was really interesting.  Kimanzi’s previous job was being a bread deliverer.  He literally drove bread around and delivered it to stores.

So, where am I going with this, especially with the title I named this post?

Most of you who read this are Christians.  Sure, there is the person here or there that reads and comments that does not believe in Christ or perhaps any faith at all.  Most of you, though, share the same basic beliefs that I share.

So, I want to be like Kimanzi.  I want you to quit simply delivering bread.

You see, Jesus is the Bread of Life.  That’s one way he described Himself in the Bible, specifically John’s Gospel.  The sixth chapter to be specific.  He said that those who come to Him will not hunger.

The thing about it, though, is that while He was physically here then, He’s not now.  So, how is someone going to get His bread?

I jokingly said once, well I actually tweeted, that Jesus was the Bread of Life and I just wanted to be the bread truck.  I realize more and more that I had the wrong idea.

Just before this Jesus fed 5,000 people.  He took a few fish and loaves that a kid had and multiplied it so that many others could eat.  He fed them.

No slight to Kimanzi, but he never took a little bread and multiplied it.  He drove a truck and emptied out it out.

What we have can’t be emptied.  The more we take the Bread we’re given, the more we have.  Our resources never run out.  It’s reminiscent of when Elijah stayed with the widow and her son.  She had enough meal and oil to make, as we would say here in the south, one pan of cornbread.  A funny thing happened though.  The more she used, the more she had.  She never ran out.

That’s the way it is with us.  We don’t run out of this Bread.  It’s never used up.  If we keep feeding others, we won’t ever run out.

In other words, if we simply deliver what we have, our resources will come to an end.  If we deliver more and more of Jesus, our stores will never fail.

I hope that makes sense.  I find myself too often depending on myself and my own strength.  Those will always be finite.

Jesus?  He’s infinite.

Do you ever find yourself depending on yourself instead of Jesus?

  1. November 3, 2015 at 6:35 am

    Each day it is a struggle to take myself off the throne and give Him control. I think that answers your question.

  2. November 3, 2015 at 9:28 am

    Guilty. I like this analogy. Great insight!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

