Home > Blogging > How I Got My Mojo Back (And How You Can Too)

How I Got My Mojo Back (And How You Can Too)

My friend, David, texted me yesterday.  That’s not unusual.  We text several times each week about various topics, serious and not so.  What was unusual was what he said.

David said there was something different about my blog lately.  In fact, he thought yesterday’s post was one of my best ever. (I don’t know about that.)  I asked him what was different, but he couldn’t really say.  That’s ok, because I already knew something was different and I’ve been trying to figure it out as well.

My friend, John, told me something similar last week.  He told me a post I wrote was perhaps my best ever.  That kickstarted the question, for me at least, about what is different.

I finally landed on what it is and wanted to share.  Why?  Because I think it’s a problem that all of us face.  I’m not unique or special.  I face the same problems common to all people.

I had been mailing it in for some time.

This wasn’t intentional.  And that is part of the problem.  Writing this blog had just become a routine thing that I did.  There was no intent to it at all.

I see this all the time.  People drift and coast through life without much intent.  They remind me of the guy in the old Duncan Doughnuts commercial.  He would wake up every day and say it was time to make the doughnuts.  He just seemed to sleep walk through life, one day to the next.  He even met himself coming in one day it was so bad.

That’s the way it had become with writing this blog.  As I have examined my life, I’ve been there in other areas as well.  You can get that way as a parent, a spouse, with  your health or any other area.  It’s easy to live a life without any intent at all.

How can we combat this?  After all, I doubt if any of us really want to just coast through life.

First, have a vision.  Take some time and paint a picture in your mind of what you want your life to be like.  Use this as your compass in life.  Go back to your vision daily to make sure you stay on course.

Next, using your vision, determine what you value most in life.  I wouldn’t have more than seven to ten areas.  Beyond that you can overwhelm yourself.  You don’t have to reinvent the wheel here.  Using Zig Ziglar’s Wheel of Life is a great place to start.

Now, take a look at your roles.  You’re a spouse, an employee, a leader, etc.   You may need to trim your list.

Finally, set some goals for your life.  Set one for each area that you value.  Maybe your goal is to make your marriage better by attending a marriage conference.  Set the goal.  Put a time limit on it.  Find a conference and book it.

In my conversation with John I told him I had gotten close to just shutting this blog down.  I wasn’t having fun and enjoying it any longer.  He told me he would miss it if that happened.  He had come to really look forward to it and need it in his life.  That’s was the spark I needed.

That helped me get on the path to getting my mojo back.

  1. November 4, 2015 at 7:29 am

    Good advice from the trench of experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

