Home > Christianity, Faith > Let Your Yes Be Yes, Your No Be No

Let Your Yes Be Yes, Your No Be No

You are called.  I know it.  After all, I am too.

You may not know what you are called for or what you are supposed to do.  That’s ok.  Sometimes the further I go along the less I know about this as well.

I just had a birthday a few days ago and turned 47.  I was pretty sure I knew what I was called to do when I was 30.  Now?  Who knows.  I can’t really even figure out what I need to be doing to help my church.

You may feel the same way.  You believe that God created you for greatness.  Maybe you think that there is some grand design and plan for your life.

I tend to agree.

So, what do we do?  We want to be able to count for God’s kingdom, yet we keep stubbing our toe when it comes to actually working in it.

I’ve got an idea.

Let your Yes be Yes and your No be No.  Let me explain.

Too often someone gets into doing things that they really hate doing.  They truly are not only outside of their comfort zone, but they are busy working outside of where they are gifted.  They are guilted into serving because, “No one else will do it.”  So, go to work, hating every minute of it.  You have let your yes be no instead of  yes.  You have said yes with your lips, but your heart says no.

Try this instead.

Say yes to what you are gifted at and no to what you aren’t.

I can hear the objections.  “Well, if I didn’t do it or if that person didn’ tdo it, then it wouldn’t happen.”  True.

Maybe there is another alternative.  Maybe no one should be doing it.

If a church is trying to do things where no one in the local body is gifted, maybe the church shouldn’t be doing it.  Maybe that ministry or event needs to be shut down.  Just because it’s a great idea doesn’t mean it’s a great idea for that church.

It goes back to what I was I described a couple of days ago.  You have to have a vision of what your life should be.  It needs to be a God-vision, one that has been submitted to Him.  This vision needs to bring Him glory and magnify Him.

That’s the  only way I know to create a vision that will allow you to say Yes to what needs to be said Yes to and No to what needs to be said no to.

Then when you approached to do things that runs counter to that vision, say No.  When it lines up, say Yes.

Let your Yes be Yes and your No be No.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. November 9, 2015 at 8:11 am

    Your post reminds me of one word for the church: Simplify. Don’t be doing things just to be doing them or to be like someone else. Do what your church does best.

  2. November 9, 2015 at 11:17 am

    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

