Home > Christianity, Church > Does The World Need Another Motivational Speaker Or Writer?

Does The World Need Another Motivational Speaker Or Writer?

I read a great quote the other day by my internet friend, Tripp Crosby.  I say internet friend because I have never met him, but I have tweeted back and forth with him a few times.  It was, I think, one part humorous and one part serious.  I’ll let you be the judge.

Know yourself, believe in your dream, go for it, expect to fail sometimes, keep trying, buy my book – Every Motivational Speaker Ever.

I laughed, of course, because it’s true.  If you boil down what every motivational speaker says, this is what their message it.  And, of course, they want you to buy their book because motivational speakers have to make a living too.

The funny thing is, as I’ve thought about this for the past few days, that I need to hear this message regularly.  I need to know myself.  I need to believe in my dream.  I need to go for it.  I will fail.  I need to keep trying.

But do I need to buy another book?  Does the world need another motivational speaker and writer who speaks, blogs, podcasts and writes a book to inspire me to live my best life?  I’ll let Zig Ziglar answer that question.

People often say that motivation doesn’t last.  Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily. – Zig Ziglar

I need to be motivated daily.  Now, there are a couple of different ways to approach that.  I can either be passive about motivation or I can be proactive about seeking it.  I can either sit back and wait for someone to motivate me or I can set about motivating myself.  What’s the difference?

If I passively sit back waiting for someone to motivate me, I am only concerned about myself.  I am simply waiting to be motivated for me.  I want someone to motivate me to get through the day, seeking only my own success.

What if I take the other approach?  If I proactively seek to be motivated, I have an entirely different attitude.  I seek to be motivated for myself for sure, but in seeking it out you see things differently.  There is a different energy about you and it affects others.  Not only do you motivate yourself, but you motivate others around you.

My pastor recently preached a message about encouragement.  He encouraged all of us (SEE!!!) to encourage others around us.  We all need encouragement.  We need it daily.  We need it even more often than that.

Does the world need another motivational speaker or writer?  Absolutely.  You and I need fresh sources of motivation and encouragement and people to speak those things into our lives.

Maybe that person is you.  Even it is simply speaking that motivation with a phone call.  Even if it is simply writing that motivation in a card or a text.

The world needs all the motivational speakers and writes it can get.

How are you motivated from day to day?  Who are you motivating?

  1. November 10, 2015 at 5:53 am

    I’m motivated by reading posts like this, listening to podcasts, and spending time in God’s Word. I’ve learned that I am motivating far more people than I realize.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

