Home > Christianity, Faith > 3 Signs Of Healthy Anger

3 Signs Of Healthy Anger

A few years ago the University of Tennessee lost to the University of Kentucky.  It was the first time the Vols had lost to the Wildcasts since 1984.  This shouldn’t have been a huge deal other than the fact that I had to deal with a bit of disappointment.  Unfortunately, I didn’t handle the situation well at all.

As I watched the game I grew angrier and angrier as it became evident my team would not win that day.  When the game was finally over my reaction was explosive and childish.  I walked outside and everything I could grab hold of landed in my yard.  Needless to say, this was not healthy anger.

Chances are you have been angry lately.  It might not have been yesterday.  It might not be today.  It could be tomorrow.  The point is, though, that you are going to be or have been angry.

Anger can be terrible and destructive.  Road rage has gotten more than one person in trouble.  You definitely don’t want to be caught in a situation like this with the Christian fish on the back of your car (which, of course, is why I don’t have one of those magnets on the back of my car.)

However, there are ways to have healthy anger.  It’s right there in the Bible to show us the way.  Hang tight as we take a look at it.

Number one, when you are angry, is simple yet hard.  When you get angry, do not sin.  What does that mean?  How do you react when you sin?  What takes place?  When that guy tailgates you?  How much self-control do yo have?  After all, that is a fruit of the Spirit.  You can be angry.  There are times to be angry.  Just don’t sin.

Next, do not the sun go down on your anger.  That means to let it go.  Don’t hang on to it.  Some people get angry, stay angry and end up not remembering why they are even angry.  They just become angry people.  You know that guy who is just angry all of the time and at everything.  Just end it before you go to bed at night.

Finally, don’t give the devil an opportunity.  Anger is one of the most destructive forces in our life.  The devil wants to destroy you.  He hates you.  Why?  Because he hates everyone that God loves.  He wants you dead.  Anger gives the devil an opportunity to destroy you. He relishes it when you are angry.

You are going to be angry.  No doubt about.  What you do with that anger makes all the difference  in your life.  The Bible tells us how to handle  and make it healthy anger.  Let’s make a decision now on how we will deal with circumstances when we become angry.

How do you handle anger?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. November 11, 2015 at 5:36 am

    For what it’s worth, I found anger to be a choice and I choose not to go that direction.

    It’s your choice to take a negative and turn it into a positive. It’s your choice to take something that hurts deeply and then see the joy in life. It’s your choice to turn a hateful statement into a loving embrace. We all have the choice to make a wrong right and vice versus.

    Following the example Jesus set in the bible, there was very little He didn’t approach with love. He commands us to love our neighbors as ourselves and as He has loved us, yet we still see hate all around us. As Christians, we are to set the example on how to treat others, yet we still see a lack of love and understanding in our churches. I hear many times ‘to error is human, to forgive is devine’ or ‘I am only human’. These are all choices we make. They are just excuses for poor judgment.

    We all have made poor judgments calls in our life and hopefully have learned from them. But these calls are choices we made where, with a little foresight and thinking, could have resulted in something more positive. Maybe if we realize that every choice we make is a reflection of our family, our Christian life, and is being used as an example by others of Christian living, we would choose better.

    The reality is that everything we say or do is being watched and listened to by someone. That example of your life could affect that persons outlook on life. A thoughtless act on your part could be seen as how a Christian is to live. A slap in the face for Christianity? We determine what we choose and how we live.

    For myself, I choose love.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed

  2. November 11, 2015 at 7:35 am

    For the most part I am even keeled. i seldom lose control or raise my voice in anger. When i do it is most often when I’m by myself. yeah, I talk to my evil twin. 🙂 But you definitely give some good guidelines for healthy anger.

  3. November 11, 2015 at 9:28 am

    I don’t handle anger well. I believe it takes a lot for me to get angry, but when I do I have to vent it. I’ve fussed out people that I should have forced myself to take a time out on. I just wish I got angry over things that truly matter. Righteous anger is a effective at helping usher in change. I get angry over spilled milk.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

