Home > Christianity, Faith > I’m A Failure And So Are You

I’m A Failure And So Are You

Jan and I were talking a couple of days ago.  Jan is my wife, just in case you don’t know.

We were talking about our kids.  They are getting older and our time is growing shorter with them.  In about a year and a half our daughter will be getting married.  Our son will graduate high school soon.  Life is changing and in flux.

All in all we have done a pretty good job.  We are blessed to have two great kids.  They haven’t caused or gotten into any trouble.  However, we realized there is one area we have done poorly in.

We have kept them in church, but we haven’t been good at keeping them in the word of God.  We haven’t spent enough time in the word with them.  If we could go back in time, we would change this.

We failed in this area.

Guess what?  You have failed somewhere too.

You may not be a parent, but you have failed somewhere.  You have a flaw.  You aren’t perfect.  Everything has not smooth sailing.  You have let someone down.

I feel your pain.  I know how you feel.  It doesn’t give you warm fuzzies.

There’s some good news that I want to let you in on.

It’s ok.  You don’t have to be perfect.  You don’t have to win at everything.  It’s not humanly possible.

Jesus has already won the victory.  He has defeated death and sin and all that comes with it, all of the big stuff in life that matters most.

And guess what else?  He’s got so much grace that He will cover you in so many of those failures.  You weren’t perfect in everything as a parent?  He’s the heavenly Father, a better parent than you could ever be any way.  Wherever you have failed, He’s better at that than you too.  He’s ready for you to lean in on Him.

I’m a failure.  So are you.  It’s ok.  Give yourself a break.  Pick yourself up.  Do better.  Trust the Lord.  Move forward.

Where have you failed?  What are you doing to overcome it?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. November 12, 2015 at 7:14 am

    I accept that i have failed. As a parent I/we can only do so much. Our children must then make the decision on their own to accept or reject the faith we have tried to pass on and hopefully got them to embrace. When they leave home it is “souped up prayer time.”

  2. Ricky Anderson
    November 12, 2015 at 8:39 am

    Thanks for this, Larry. I need it. I don’t feel like there’s much I do right these days.

  3. November 12, 2015 at 9:49 am

    Larry, I’ve got a long list. One area is with my weight. I lost 20 lbs and then stopped. My wife is on 40. Thank God for a new day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

