Home > Church > What Finding Out I Had A Personality Did For Me

What Finding Out I Had A Personality Did For Me

Recently I went to a church meeting regarding a new initiative we will be taking up in the next year.  One section of the meeting involved taking the DISC personality test.  I didn’t really have to take the test to know what my personality type was.  I could have told them ahead of time that I am a D personality, though that would have surprised some folks at my church.

When you break it down even further than the simple results this test yielded, I am a results oriented type of person.  What this means is that I focus on getting the job done more than anything.  Unfortunately there is a bad side to this.  I tend to fail in one area.

Relationships.

I had kind of forgotten that, so it was a good reminder.  I have to consciously work at relationships at work.  As a matter of fact, I have done a good job of that at work by actively seeking out relationships to help both my career and my ability to do my job effectively.

Church?  Not so much.

I can tend to get frustrated.  I used to be a Sunday school teacher and I worked hard to teach the lesson each week.  I would study the scripture I was teaching, diving deep into commentaries and finding illustrations.  I did the best job I could to make the lessons as good as possible for the folks in my class.  What did I forget?

The folks in my class.

I would get frustrated that I didn’t have a good relationship with the people in my class, but looking back I realize that I didn’t really take the time necessary to truly build those relationships.  I focused more on teaching that relationships.

The DISC test basically told me that’s how I am.

I can tend to do the same thing in my current church.  I can get caught up in the doing of things rather than the building of relationships.  I have to pause, remember and consciously remember to build relationships.

What does all of this have to do with you?

You have a personality type too.  Whatever yours is, you have strengths that go along with it.  You also have plenty of, well let’s not call them weaknesses, let’s call them opportunities.

You many need to slow down and pay attention to the details more.  You might run all over people if you aren’t careful.

I recommend you find out what your personality type is.  Find out what your spouse’s is if you’re married.  You probably won’t find out anything you don’t know about yourself.  What it might do, though, is give you some perspective on yourself and how you relate to people and projects.  It might even make your marriage better.

Do you know what your DISC personality type is?  What does it say about you and has it made a difference in how you approach life?

  1. November 19, 2015 at 5:36 am

    I suspect I am a ‘D’ type also as I am very task oriented myself. I do have problems with relatuonships because I don’t talk much, I listen and only add something to the conversation when I know it is right. I would love to take the test and see what I can do to grow. Thank you for the post.

    Ed.

  2. November 19, 2015 at 6:50 am

    I know of the DISC test but have never taken it. I know I’m an extreme outgoing Sanguine but also know there is some Choleric (Power/decisive) and Melancholy (want things right) in me. Where I fall on the DISC I have no clue.

  3. November 19, 2015 at 10:52 am

    I’m a high I and S. I is the highest, but S is close.

  4. December 8, 2015 at 10:28 am

    The I-S personality must run in your Rob readership! I’m the guy who everyone loves and will be the first to call to tell their innermost secrets – when I get excited about something it’s infectious – however there is about 1% D in my noggin and if you want something substantive done – you might want to just call me in for the pep rally and maybe to introduce the Director.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

