Home > Christianity, Faith > How Are You Going To Read The Bible Next Year?

How Are You Going To Read The Bible Next Year?

Soon it will be the year’s end and a new year will be upon us. Many will be making New Year resolutions and the really ambitious of us will be setting goals.  One such goal?

Reading the Bible through.

New Bibles will be received for Christmas.  Old Bibles will be opened for the first time in months.  All of this activity will be in the pursuit of doing what many think is impossible and others will just find daunting.

The question is what will you do?

In the interest of honesty, I’m terrible at this.  My church has been reading the Bible through for the past year, but I’ve not been participating.  The reasons are numerous, but one is that so many of the plans don’t fit me.

They might not fit you either.  However, let’s not forget the objective: reading God’s word on a regular basis.  So, what choices do we have?  Let me name a few.

One is to get a 1 Year Bible.  These Bibles are designed to give you a daily reading that is pre-made for you. You just have to turn the pages.  You don’t have to think too hard about it.  You just pull your Bible off the shelf and read every day.

Another is to just print off a reading plan.  There are plenty you can find on the Internets.  Just Google Bible reading plan and see what you find.

You can also add the YouVersion app to your phone.  There are plenty of plans that will take you through the Bible using the device we all carry around with us on a daily basis. Here is one I heard from a pastor years ago.  Take the yearly Bible plan and just read the Old Testament part.  That’s a pretty stout one.

The bottom line is that you need to find a way to read the Bible that works for you.  You can start on January 1, but you don’t have to wait.  You can start today.

Let’s do it.

  1. November 30, 2015 at 6:26 am

    I honestly don’t know. I spent almost 1 3/4 years just finishing the OT. I ain’t doing that again for awhile. Meanwhile, I have read and reread the Gospels as well as the rest of the NT in book sections. I also read at least 2 Psalms a day and Proverbs every other month. I have been pondering my approach and have no concrete idea yet.

    • November 30, 2015 at 6:28 am

      Bill, I really think we should shake it up from time to time.

  2. November 30, 2015 at 9:11 am

    I’ve been doing devotionals through YouVersion and I really like it. I’ve read through the Bible and for this season I wanted something topical.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

