Home > Uncategorized > Why You Didn’t Grow Spiritually This Year (And How You Can Next Year)

Why You Didn’t Grow Spiritually This Year (And How You Can Next Year)

So, you didn’t grow spiritually this year.  Sure, you went to church some, but you just didn’t seem to gain any traction in your relationship with God. There is one reason why this happened and I’m going to tell you why.

It’s you.

I know that’s hard to swallow, but I know this to be a fact. I know this from experience. I have had plenty of years like this. I have been my own worst enemy when it comes to my spiritual walk.

The good news? You can change that in the year to come.

How?

First, make sure you are consistent in spending time with your faith community. Don’t be legalistic about it. Realize that you get to go to church, not have to.

Next? Spend time in prayer. Don’t just bring your laundry list of wants to God. Talk to Him. Cry to Him. Yell a little. Tell Him where you’ve screwed up and sinned. Lay your burdens on Him. He can handle it a lot better than you.

Spend time in God’s word. You want to really know Him? Read what He wrote through His prophets and apostles. Find a plan for this and stick to it.

Finally, find something to do to serve others. If you are in a relationship with God through Christ, you have been gifted in a special way. Find out what that gift is and use it for God’s glory.

You want a stronger spiritual walk in the coming year. Work in these things and 365 days from now will you will be much further along. 

How will you grow spiritually this year?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 9, 2015 at 6:17 am

    i tell the folks here if they leave and say, “I didn’t get anything out of that” it may be more of a sign of their heart than anything else.” For one, we shouldn’t come to get. We come to give honor and glory to the Father. To grow or not to grow is a matter of the heart. My heart will determine my reading, praying, etc.

    • December 9, 2015 at 6:19 am

      Bill, I hate hearing people say, “I’m not being fed.” Most likely it’s because they aren’t eating.

  2. December 9, 2015 at 8:54 am

    Solid stuff. I think if all Christians simply applied Sunday’s message we would grow. It’s so easy to listen and think that the message has changed you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

