Home > Christianity, Christmas, Faith > The Best Christmas Present You Could Give Yourself

The Best Christmas Present You Could Give Yourself

I’ve spent the last two or three weeks paying attention to the TV show, The Voice. A girl from East Tennessee made it through to the finals, as well as a young man from Kentucky going to college not far from here. 

They finished first and second.

One of the neatest things is that there were several Christmas songs sung this week. Christ’s name was proclaimed whether the show meant for it to happen or not.

*****

One of the things I live about Christmas are the characters that the world doesn’t know about or pay attention to. Simeon and Anna are a couple of examples.

John the Baptist is too.

His job was foretold long before Christ was born. He was to be Elijah, preparing the way for Jesus to come. It resulted in his death, but Jesus said that no one had ever been born greater.

The question that has been gnawing at me is if I’m being enough of a John.

Am I making crooked roads straight?

Am I preparing the way for His return?

I don’t like the answers I find within myself.  How about you?

Let’s start with ourselves. Let’s make sure our paths are straight. Let’s prepare ourselves for His second coming.

Those would be the best presents we could give ourselves.

  1. December 17, 2015 at 10:44 am

    I wanted to sing Man in the Mirror after reading this. I love the song so that’s a win. To change the world we must work on ourselves.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

