Home > Movies > What Movies Are You Looking Forward To In 2016?

What Movies Are You Looking Forward To In 2016?

I’m still trying to keep it light as we head into the final week of 2016. As many of you know, I love movies, so there are several I’m looking forward to in 2016.

First up is Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Yes, I know I’m late to the party, but that’s intentional. Andrew doesn’t remember watching the original trilogy when we was little, so we’re watching them this week. I’m really looking forward to it.

In February, I’m looking forward to Deadpool. This is a superhero movie, but don’t take your kids to see it. It’s definitely not for children.

March 25 brings the big one, Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice. I’ve been waiting basically 40 years for this movie. I used to read Justice League comics in the 70’s. On the Letters To The Editor page, writers would dream of a movie and fan cast. Finally, we get the beginning of the Justice League.

The next one comes on May 6. Captain America: Civil War looks to be a terrific movie. It’s Avengers 2.5. Cap and Iron Man are going to be duking it out. Black Panther makes his big screen debut and Spider-Man enters the MCU.

May will also have X-Men: Apocalypse. The X-Men move into the 80’s and you have a mutant thousands of years old. Plus, you have younger versions of Cyclops, Storm, and Jean Grey.

Before I was a Star Wars fan, I was a Star Trek fan. Star Trek Beyond  is the next edition of the voyages of the starship Enterprise. They will continue their 5 year mission and I plan to see it.

A surprise entry into the DC Extended Universe is Suicide Squad. I read the original comics way back in the late 80’s. Think The Dirty Dozen full of super-villains. Plus you get a Batman cameo.

Marvel gives us Doctor Strange in November. An arrogant surgeon loses his ability to perform surgery and ends up the Sorcerer Supreme of Earth. It sounds weird and great.

Finally, the year will end with Star Wars: Rogue One. Here we will travel back in time as Princess Leia sends rebel operatives to steal the plans to the Death Star.

What movies will you see in 2016?

Categories: Movies Tags:
  1. December 28, 2015 at 3:04 am

    Definately all the ones you listed! I’m also looking forward, hoping to rekindle my comic book passion this coming year. 🙂

  2. December 28, 2015 at 7:45 am

    Great list. I’m hoping to squeeze the new Star Wars in today. I’d like to see Concussion which probably won’t happen until 2016.

  3. December 28, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    Yup. What you said.

  4. January 4, 2016 at 2:46 pm

    I’m guessing the one i WILL see is the Cap. he’s the man!! Not a DC fan. And def not a Star Wars fan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

