Home > Faith, Health and Fitness > Why A Good Night’s Sleep Is Important

Why A Good Night’s Sleep Is Important

I went to my annual sleep doctor visit last week. It was the usual, which means I was in and out quickly.

I found out a couple of important pieces of information. One, my blood pressure is back down to my early 20’s level. Second, I just over 6 hours of sleep each night.

The irony is that just a couple of days later, I had one of those nights with little sleep. I watched a certain football game Monday night and went to bed after midnight. I ended up with less than 5 hours of sleep. The results?

No blog post.

A rough day at work. 

Difficulty making it to my normal bedtime last night. 

Sleep thrown off the second day in a row.

In fact, it will not surprise me to find it taking a few days to get back into my normal sleep pattern.

A good night’s sleep is important for many reasons. Good performance in daily activities. Good health, including blood pressure and weight. Just how we feel throughout the day.

I believe it even affects you spiritually. I believe it will affect your relationship with the Lord. It will affect your time in the Bible. It will affect your prayer life. It goes on and on.

Research says that many of us are sleep deprived and don’t even know it. Why? Most likely it has a lot to do with television watching and devices we hold in our hands. If we would turn them off earlier in the evening, we would see our sleep improve. In turn, we would see our lives improve as well.

Do you sleep well at night?

Categories: Faith, Health and Fitness Tags:
  1. January 13, 2016 at 5:56 am

    You didn’t mention if the Doctor said getting just over 6 hours is considered normal. I wonder, because I consider m$yself lucky to get 6 hours of sleep a night.
    I also have problems once in a while where toss and turn all night trying to sleep, but cannot point to any one thing like you do. The mind just won’t shut down for me and my routine had not changed. However, after a couple days I manage to catch up, sometimes with a short nap. Being retired gives me the advantage of being able to nap if I need one.
    It would be interesting to know, however, if six hours is considered a good nights sleep or if it is normal for a person our age.

    Have a blessed day!

    Ed

    • January 13, 2016 at 6:43 am

      She really didn’t have much to say about the time of sleep. It seems quality of sleep is more important than length.

  2. January 13, 2016 at 7:18 am

    I have heard 6-8 is optimum Ed. I usually average between 5-6 depending on whether I go to bed at the right time. I still get up at 3:30-3:45 so i can ride indoors but I feel much better when I go to bed earlier (9:30 or so). For the most part, Larry, I sleep well. Not lately with a cough and achy back but also my wife is now coughing her lungs up.

    • January 13, 2016 at 7:31 am

      Thank you both for the response. 6 to 8 hours considered good sounds good to me. I also am an early riser and do try to settle down early in the evening. A good book goes along way in relaxing me.

      Thanks again!

      Ed

    • January 13, 2016 at 7:54 am

      Hope that cough clears up, Bill

  3. January 13, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    I sleep well most of the time when I go to bed, but I know I don’t get enough sleep. I probably average just over 5 hours of sleep a night.

  4. January 14, 2016 at 9:41 am

    I’ve tried to get more recently. My sleep machine is nice because it tells me how many hours I got the night before. My goal is to get 7 to 8. I don’t always get that many, but that’s the goal. I function better with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

