Home > Blogging > What I Have Learned From Binge Watching The Walking Dead

What I Have Learned From Binge Watching The Walking Dead

My son, Andrew, has received the first two seasons of The Walking Dead this past year. I’m not sure why we didn’t watch it before, but we managed to miss it.

I didn’t intend to catch up so quickly, but AMC broadcast a marathon of the show around New Year, so I set the DVR. I thought we would catch up so that we could watch the new season next fall. That wasn’t nearly ambitious enough. 

As I wake up this morning, we have five episodes left. We will be caught up with time to spare when Season 6 resumes on Valentine’s Day.

The question one might ask is if I have learned anything? You bet I have.

There are numerous leadership lessons you can learn from watching Rick lead his ragtag band of survivors. You can learn all sorts of things about human relationships. However, there is one thing above all others that I have learned.

You can do anything you put your mind to.

By the time this week is over, Andrew and I will have powered through 73 episodes of The Walking Dead. Since just after Christmas.

Going forward I can’t use the excuse that I don’t have time to do something. I have plenty of time to do exactly what I want to do.

Do I want to read a certain amount of books in a year? I’ve got time.

Do I want to run so many miles this year? I’ve got time.

Do I want to work on my relationships? I’ve got time.

I just have have to decide I want to.

Don’t let excuses stand in the way of what you want to do. You have plenty of time if you really want to do it. You just have to decide what it is.

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. January 18, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    We got rid of cable and my wife has done this with Netflix. Binge-watching. She watches so much no matter when I come into the picture I am lost. I just go to my room. 🙂 Hate to say it but WD does not interest me at all.

    • January 18, 2016 at 2:07 pm

      I went 6 seasons without it. The zombie stuff is probably the least interesting thing about it. The human drama and and Christian imagery is fascinating.Not necessarily Biblical, but gripping.

  2. January 19, 2016 at 9:40 am

    This makes me so excited! I love that show. Great take away. I hope to see more WD posts in the future.

    • January 19, 2016 at 10:31 am

      Rob, I could write a book called Leadership Lessons From The Walking Dead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

