Home > Uncategorized > Encountering First World Problems

Encountering First World Problems

The past few days have been frustrating.

Our heat pump didn’t kick on all day Saturday. The house was getting cool when I realized it. Our heat and air guy came out and fixed a short it had and we were warm before you know it.

I took our truck to have some work done on it. It sat at the shop all day only for me to be told that the parts didn’t get there in time to fix it. I had to take it back the next day to get it fixed.

Last Friday someone was supposed to install Internet to my house. I live in an area where I cannot get cable or DSL Internet. I have lived here for eight years without having decent connection to the World Wide Web.

My new option? Satellite. It’s more expensive and doesn’t offer the same speed or unlimited data. But it’s better than what I had.

The guy could not install it due to the weather. The next day he was sick. Finally ,yesterday, I was connected.

I paused and realized that I was frustrated over First World problems. Most of the world doesn’t have heat and air. Much of the world doesn’t have a vehicle to drive. What percentage of the world is connected to the Internet?

I praised the Lord that the short was found in my heat and air unit. I praised the Lord that we have three vehicles. I praised the Lord that I have Internet.

I praised the Lord I have First World problems.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 20, 2016 at 8:23 am

    We often forget we are much better off than most of the world.

  2. January 20, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Larry, great job internalizing your feelings. First world problems still feel like major problems in the moment. A little perspective goes a long way. Thanks for the reminder.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

