Home > Blogging, Faith > My Love-Hate Relationship With The Blogosphere

My Love-Hate Relationship With The Blogosphere

My friend, Bill, wrote a post about envy yesterday.  I imagine that we all fall into the trap of envying someone from time to time.  Not saying it’s a good or innocent thing.  Just saying it happens.

When you prowl around the blogosphere like I do, you can find plenty to envy.  It happens especially when I read some the “successful” bloggers out there.  Insert your own definition of success, of course.

The problem is that too often these bloggers, whether intentional or not, can make others feel like losers.  Well, maybe loser is a strong word, but they can definitely make some feel like they aren’t successful.

There are plenty of blog posts and articles out there that talk about how you can build your platform or your tribe, start your business, and make your fortune.  All you have to do is follow the formula from their book or their course.  Then you can work from home for the rest of your life free from the confines of Corporate America.

Except.

Except for the one thing that these posts and bloggers don’t take into account.

What if you should stay in your corporate job?  What if you are wired for that particular lifestyle?

Don’t get me wrong.  I learn a lot from these folks.  I just think they go a step too far in the direction they are fleeing from.  They create these scenarios that seem to indicate people should flee cookie cutter jobs for the freedom they espouse.  Yet, they then create the cookie cutter of following their plans.

How do I know this?  Because I’ve been guilty of it.  I’ve gotten to the point where I dreamed of what they were selling that I wasn’t focused on what I should have been doing in my career.  I’ve coasted thinking that writing these posts would somehow lead me to being something else.  The problem is that I didn’t stop to question if that what I wanted or even should do.

You look in the Bible at what people did and there was a variety.  You had shepherds, prime ministers, government officials, fishermen, tax collectors, tent makers, preachers and everything in-between.

The problem I faced, and what many of these well-meaning people missed, is what does God want me to do?  Or you.  Or anyone else.

So, yes, I have a love-hate relationship with these type of blog posts.  There has to be another way.

I say seek the Lord first.  Not just what the Lord wants you to do, but the Lord himself.

Then ask Him what He wants you to do.  Does He want you to work a day job? Does He want your day job to be your dream job?  Or does He want you to strike out on your own?  Ask Him.  He will let you know.

Then do it.  Do it with all your heart and soul and mind and strength.  Do it with everything you’ve got.

You’ll be happy if do that.  Whichever way you

  1. Ricky Anderson
    January 26, 2016 at 1:30 am

    Read this right after another entrepreneur webinar, so good timing! You’re absolutely right – seek Him first, and the rest will fall into place. Thanks, Larry.

    • January 26, 2016 at 4:19 am

      You bet. Are you saying you watched one of those webinars? Was it valuable?

  2. January 26, 2016 at 6:19 am

    I reckon I’m a rare bird, Larry. I absolutely love doing what I do and have no desire to do anything else. I’m more excited at 63 than I was when I was 36. God have opened my eyes to so much lately I don’t want to miss anything! I would do this even if i wasn’t being paid.

    • January 26, 2016 at 6:21 am

      That’s awesome, Bill. It’s funny that I’m falling more in love with my job than I have in a while.

  3. January 26, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    I resonate with so much of this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

